Dreamer Alone (a mini opera)

Dreamer Alone

Written for the ENO Mini-Opera Contest in 2012.

The scene: a CHORUS, composed of a collection of ragged humans, is sprawled all over the space, members clumped together in small clusters or crouching alone, huddled inward.  Only two figures stand in the chaos: the SWEEPER and the DREAM.

CHORUS

He left me, he left me

He left me alone

Why did he go?

He left me, he left me

He left me alone

DREAM

Come to me

You are mine

Come to me

CHORUS

Why?  Why?

Don’t leave me

You left me alone!

Why?  Why?

Don’t leave me

SWEEPER

You took me for granted

Now see what that got you

Ingratitude’s reaping

CHORUS

Come back!  I’ll do anything!

Where has he gone?

I can’t stand here alone!

Come back!  I’ll do anything!

Where has he gone?

DREAM

My foe’s long gone,

You’re all mine now.

I’m not leaving at dawn

Not anymore

CHORUS

He left me so quickly

He’s gone!  He’s gone!

Please won’t you return?

He left me so quickly

He’s gone!  He’s gone!

SWEEPER

I took care of you

Sheltered you, helped you

Good luck there, kiddo–

We both know you’ll need it.

CHORUS

Come back to me

I can’t make it alone!

I need you, I need you

Come back to me

I can’t make it alone!

DREAM

Sink into my embrace

I’ll keep you down all night

Oh the fun we’ll have

Just you and me alone

Without the Sweeper of Dreams

CHORUS

Save me, save me

They’re swallowing me whole!

I can’t take it without you

Save me, save me

They’re swallowing me whole!

SWEEPER

I swept your mind clear

With dawn’s brightest light

But no more, no more

You closed that door tight

When you said ‘Hello Dream’

CHORUS

Don’t let it take me

Pull me back, help me

I’m sorry, I’m sorry!

Don’t let it take me

Pull me back, help me

DREAM

You made your bed

The choice was yours

Too late to say no

I’m here to stay

CHORUS

Make him come back

I can’t live without him

They’re killing me!

Make him come back

I can’t live without him

SWEEPER

You made your choice

So lay your head down

And rest in your bed

Of thorns and dreams

CHORUS

I’m nothing without him

Without him I’m gone

I need you to return

I’m nothing without him

Without him I’m gone

DREAM

You let me in

So let’s have some fun.

Now follow me down

CHORUS

They’re here, they’re here

Make them leave

Why won’t they leave?

They’re here, they’re here

Make them leave

SWEEPER

You said get out

So my broom and I

We’ll just let you be

CHORUS

Sweeper!  Sweeper!

Sweeper come back!

Please, Sweeper, please!

Sweeper!  Sweeper!

Sweeper come back!

 

*Author’s Note: Due to some unfortunate formatting problems, the CHORUS’s lines aren’t appearing as they were originally intended: all of the second and fifth lines should be indented once and all of the third lines should be indented twice.

Leave a Reply

