Bout of Books – What to Read Next Challenge

It’s the final day of Bout of Books 14 and there’s one more challenge to wrap it up, hosted by Sarah Reads Too Much.

This challenge was to select three books read this year that you would recommend people read.  Not that I need to add to my TBR list, but all of the recommendations will be compiled by the wonderful hostess so that anyone looking for book recs can access it.

Unfortunately for me, I’ve been somewhat disappointed by a decent number of books I read this year (a hazard of rereading when you’re older, sadly) so it took me a while to come up with some suggestions.  However, they are:

Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson (high/EPIC fantasy) – the first book of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, this is not a book or series to take on lightly.  There are ten books in the main saga (MBotF), none under 600 pages, and at least seven other books in spinoff/sequel/prequel/inquel series and counting.  However, this was a reread for me, and it just keeps getting better with each reread.  There’s just so much to the whole series, and going back to reread with the knowledge of what comes later really does just make the whole experience better, and I always find something I missed on previous reads.

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch (urban fantasy, police/crime drama) – the first book of the Rivers of London series, this book is known as Midnight Riot in the U.S.  The story of a policeman who gets tangled up in the supernatural, the voice is very natural and unique.  I’m not normally one for first-person narratives, but Aaronovitch makes main character Peter Grant sound so very natural, it’s really easy to slip right into his mind, although I have to admit that some of his thoughts did jerk me out (being as I’m not a (very) heterosexual man).  It probably helps that this is much lighter fair than my above recommendation.  Also, I highly recommend listening to the audio book as read by Kobna Holdbrook-Smith as his reading of this series is fantastic.

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine (fairy tale retelling) – my final recommendation.  This story is a(n expanded) re-imagining of the fairy tale “The Twelve Dancing Princesses”.  This wasn’t a ‘can’t put it down’ book, but the setting (the 1920’s) was so believable, and I never once doubted the premise, however fantastical.  If you like the 1920’s, fairy tales, or family stories, then I can’t recommend this highly enough.

Even if you’re not participating in Bout of Books – or this particular challenge – do you have any must-read books from this year?

Advertisements

One thought on “Bout of Books – What to Read Next Challenge

  1. Sam says:

    Completely agree with Kingfisher! Great book and I really enjoyed it. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s