Top Ten Tuesday – Characters I Didn’t Click With

It’s my Top Ten Tuesday!!  Late, just like my WWW Wednesday, due to helping my sister move.  Apologies.

For those who don’t know Top Ten Tuesday, it’s run by The Broke and the Bookish and happens every Tuesday.  Each week has a different theme and you pick your top ten for that theme.  This week is Top Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With.

Just a friendly reminder, this is my personal opinion.  I do not mean any offense to anyone with this post and it is not meant to put down books, characters, authors, etc.  Again, THIS IS MY PERSONAL OPINION, NOT MEANT TO HURT ANYONE’S FEELINGS.

This was a really hard post to write because I had to dig in deep to characters I haven’t thought of in a while, and I dislike posting a huge lump of negativity with no real redeeming features.  Also, I wanted to stick to books I’ve at least started to read, so I didn’t go for several choices that are, to me, obvious, because I’ve only read excerpts from those books rather than trying to read it on my own.  Further, I tried to go for characters you’re (theoretically) supposed to like, as well as ‘major characters’ (for a given definition of major, meaning more than one book if they’re in a series (preferably with a narration section if there are multiple narrators) and present in a significant number of scenes if in a one-off book).  I’m not sure if I succeeded or not, but there you go.

And so, Top Ten Characters I Just Didn’t Click With:

1. Anya Stark from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – It’s not that I disliked her.  I just wasn’t interested in anything she did.  She was young and immature and I’ve seen so many heroines like that.  She was just kind of there, which made reading her narrative sections in the first book difficult, although not as difficult as…

2. Sansa Stark from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin – Her I actually disliked.  Reading her narrative sections was painful.  I just wanted to sit her down and say ‘listen, your fantasies have no connection to the real world.’  I hear she gets more interesting in later books, but I couldn’t overcome my dislike enough to finish the first book.  (I read for characters more than anything, so there might be some more ‘couldn’t finish due to character’ books on this list…)

3. Mary Ingalls from the Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder – Since Mary’s not the main character, my antipathy for her didn’t ruin the series, but it did make the scenes with her in them immediately less interesting to me.  It’s been a while since I read this series, but I remember sighing over how perfect she seemed.  She bored me, to be honest.  But, again, she wasn’t the main character, and the series was one of my favorites growing up.

4. Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins – Yes, I know, everyone loves her and will go ‘huh?’ at her inclusion in my list.  But, frankly, I didn’t particularly care for her.  What happened to her, what happened to the other characters, what happened to the world – yes, I enjoyed that and cared about that.  But Katniss herself consistently got on my nerves with her inability to consider there might be more to something.  Also I thought she was too wishy-washy about the love triangle and dragged it out way longer than she needed to, but then I suppose that’s the point of such a b- or c-plot.  Still, she didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the series, so there’s that.

5. Tris Prior from Divergent by Veronica Roth – Okay, these two seem like a theme, huh?  I only finished the first book in this series, and unfortunately Tris Prior is the reason for that.  With Katniss, I could invest enough to ignore my narrator.  With Tris, I couldn’t.  Maybe because I read it so soon after the HG and wasn’t ready for another that was so similar in tone and narration.  Maybe because I’ll never like Tris.  Either way, I didn’t really care about Tris or anyone else in this world, mostly because Tris’s narration didn’t make me feel anything for them or for what was going on.  It’s not that she was passive, but, to me, it seemed like she was just going with things and letting them happen.  And that’s not going to appeal to me.

6. Bella Swan from Twilight by Stephanie Meyer – I read the entirety of the first book.  And I will never read it again, nor will I read any other book in this series.  Bella is a fill-in-the-blank, self-insert character.  She exists solely so that a reader can pretend to be her and vicariously enjoy what happens to her.  If you happen to like insert-yourself books and the kind of events that happen to Bella, fine, good.  But I like neither.

7. Clip from The Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Steven Erikson – I struggled with putting Clip on here because I don’t think you’re supposed to like him.  Also, I don’t recall him being a narrator (except maybe once in Toll the Hounds?), so I’m not sure he counts for my definition, but…  Even from his introduction, Clip got on my nerves with his constant spinning of the chain and rings he carries, the way he fans the flames of the conflict in the group he joins (already way too high, but Clip basically pours gasoline on the fire and then laughs), and, later on, with the way he treats Nimander and the other Anomander-spawn he travels with.  Just…argh.  I wanted to reach through and strangle him.  A lot.

8. Sirius Black from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling – I know you’re supposed to like Sirius – he’s the crazy uncle and all that, but I found him selfish, petty, and immature.  Still sad at his death, though, so I didn’t completely dislike him.

9. Touchstone from Sabriel by Garth Nix – He was really just very blah for me.  Always there, not really doing anything.  Again, I didn’t dislike him, but I never really felt anything for him.  Sabriel herself more than made up for him, though.

And that’s all I’ve got.  I’m sure there are more characters I didn’t click with whom the author wanted me to like, but I just can’t think of them.  So that’s quite enough of that.

Any (civil) disagreement or (civil) agreement on my choices?

Leave a Reply

