Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Unfinished Series

Top Ten Tuesday rolls around once again, hosted as always by the ladies over at the broke and the bookish.  This week’s theme is top ten series that are fully published that you haven’t finished reading.  So, allow me to present the ten series I started but never finished – even though the author did:

1. The Mistborn Trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
I read the first book, but it took me longer to read than it should have if I’d enjoyed it more, and it left off in a spot that I was content with, so even though I own all three books, I’m not sure that I’ll ever get around to reading the next two.

2. The Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth
Anyone who read last Tuesday’s Top Ten (posted a few days late, oops!) will know that I didn’t really click with Tris Prior, Divergent’s main character.  And since I’m a character-driven reader, this is another series I don’t foresee myself continuing, even though the first book didn’t wrap anything up with its conclusion

3. The All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness
This is one that I’ll probably continue – when I finally get my hands on a copy of the second book for long enough.  I loved the first one, but I just kept running out of time to read the sequel before it had to go back to the library.

4. Glasswright series by Mindy Klasky
I read the first one so long and ago – and maybe the second? – that I would have to go back and reread from the beginning if I were to pick this series back up.  I honestly don’t remember much – including whether or not I liked it!  Still, it’s sitting on my shelves somewhere.

5. Heirs of Alexandria series by Mercedes Lackey, Eric Flint, and Dave Freer
Read the first one all the way through earlier this year as part of my When Are You Reading? Challenge and now I need to read the rest, but I’ve got so much else on my TBR pile that I’m not sure when that will be.

6. The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan (and Brandon Sanderson)
Another series I’m not planning to continue.  I read the first three or so books and then kind of gave up in frustration over the characters.  Sound familiar? 😉

7. The Lotus War trilogy by Jay Kristoff
Again, read the first one.  I’m not sure if I plan to finish this series or not.  Don’t get me wrong: I really liked the first book.  But.  But I’m not sure if my heart – and my tear ducts – can take the next two books.  I mean, I only got through Malazan Book of the Fallen because I was pretty sure the end would be bittersweet not heart-breakingly bitter.  This series… we’ll see.

8. The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger
I read the first one, Soulless, and I liked it well enough, but steampunk really isn’t my genre, so I doubt I’ll ever get around to reading the rest of the series.

9. The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
The ones I’ve read are entertaining, but not so entertaining that I’m trying to read all of them (or read them in the right order, oops).  Again, it’s a case of not exactly clicking with the character.

10. Discworld by Terry Pratchett
There’s so much TO read that I’m not sure I’ll ever get through everything.  Right now the one I’m dying to read is the last Tiffany Aching novel, The Shepherd’s Crown.

And this is without mentioning the series-in-progress that I’m reading, plus I’m sure there are other series I DNF-ed at one point or another.

Anyone have some thoughts on which of these I should bump up in priority?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Unfinished Series

  1. Bex says:

    Hmm well since you don’t see finishing Divergent which is my favorite and I’ll be honest not at all for the characters but for the works building especially in books two and three then I’d go with Deborah Harkness’ All Souls Trilogy because then you can tell me if it’s worth finishing! Lol I don’t know a lot of other people who have even started it! I almost put it on my list too but it got edged out of the top ten.

  2. Bex says:

    Serious answer. Discworld but I’m no expert as to where to start so if you find one send them my way!!

Leave a Reply

