WWW Wednesday – 10/14

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and post a link to your post on Sam’s post.

The three w’s are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor is proving to be a quick read, at least.  I’m already about halfway through it and I only started yesterday.  On the other hand, no progress on M. L. Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans or Mark Lawrence’s Prince of Thorns, but that’s because I can always renew those two.  Some of the other books I have (had) out have holds on them.  And I’ve only got one chapter left in my reread of Return of the Crimson Guard by Ian C. Esslemont.

Recently Finished: This was a good week: I managed to get through The Young Elites by Marie Lu and The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.  Both surprised me in a good way and I’m looking forward to continuing both series.

Reading Next: Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson is next up in my Malazan reread.  As for library books, I’m giving Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo a try, although more first person female YA protagonist… Well, we’ll see.  I’ve also got several other books out from the library plus a couple others I’m still waiting for, a lot of which is YA.

What are you reading?

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 10/14

  1. Clare Stone says:

    The Light Between Oceans is on my TBR and I will probably be reading it soon, I hope you like it!
    http://dualreads.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/wednesday-catch-up-14th-september-2015.html

    • siderealday says:

      So far it’s starting slow which has been a ‘good’ reason to set it aside while I read books due back at the library sooner.
      Happy Wednesday!

  2. I look forward to hearing what you think of Daughter of Smoke and Bone when you finish. I thought the first half of the book was the best bit… but I think I’m in the minority. Most people love the whole thing.
    I have the whole Grisha trilogy on my TBR because I was interested in Six of Crows and I was told by a reliable source I’d enjoy it more if I was familiar with the world of Shadow and Bone etc. first. More series to read!
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/www-wednesday-14th-october-2015/

    • siderealday says:

      Thanks for telling me that about Six of Crows – it’s on my TBR list (way down it, though, and now going further down).
      Happy Wednesday!

  3. Sam says:

    I’ve been wanting to read ‘Smoke and Bone’ so I’m glad you like it. I’ve also wanted to read something by Stiefvater soon because she’s very prolific and many people seem to like her. I’ve seen good things about Lu, too! I think the final book in that series came out recently? Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

