Confessions of a Writer

So Sam over at Taking on a World of Words tagged me in what is apparently something new: The Confessions of a Writer, started by Nicolette. I’ve never done this before, so this will be fairly interesting.

the-confessions-of-a-writer-tag

The Confessions of a Writer Tag was created by Nicolette at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. It is a ‘get-to-know’ the writer interview tag, dedicated to spotlighting the creative process, works in progress, and connecting to other writers.

Rules of the Tag:

  • Please link back to A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow writers – it’s up to you how many!

So, as stated above, I was tagged by Sam.  And now, here are

The Questions:

  1. When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?
    I started writing in elementary school, although I was telling my sister stories for as long as I can remember.  I think I was 11 or so when I first realized I could make a living at it.
  2. What genre do you write?
    Mostly speculative fiction, especially fantasy, but I’ve been known to go more literary with character studies.
  3. Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?
    Which one should I talk about?  I’m in the middle of a lot of works, but the one that I’m focusing on for NaNoWriMo is one I started maybe about a year or so ago?  But I talked it over with my sister before then, going over ideas, characters, plot lines.  It’s sci-fi, with a lot of inspiration from H.P. Lovecraft.
  4. What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?
    I wrote three shorts in elementary school, each one meant to be a fairy tale of sorts.  Looking back, though, they were all incomplete.  Oops.
  5. What’s the best part about writing?
    World-building, hands down.  I love coming up with new worlds, races, cultures – or, alternatively, figuring out how magic or what-have-you has stayed hidden from the mundane modern world – or trying to figure out where humanity might be in the far future.
  6. What’s the worst part about writing?
    Getting through a first draft.  I always step away from first drafts and have to drag myself back because they feel clunky and slow and I always worry about finding the perfect words, even though I know in my head that’s what revision is for.
  7. What’s the name of your favorite character and why? (This can be from a book by another author or from your own work. Book crushes are perfectly acceptable here as well.)
    Anomander Rake from the Malazan Book of the Fallen (the series is probably not a surprise for anyone who knows me).  I love his desperation to keep his long-lived people from stagnating, his compassion – and, yeah, I like the fact that there are some things he can’t and won’t forgive.
  8. How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?
    I try to write at least a little bit each day.  My goal is to try and hack out 1000 or more words per day, or at least an hour, but that doesn’t always happen.  Since I currently have a night job, my best writing time tends to be mid-afternoon, before I go in to work.
  9. Did you go to college for writing? Or if you haven’t been to college yet, do you plan to?
    I did go to college for writing, but I didn’t intend to.  I intended to go for history, so I would have a good basis to write about, but a professor turned me off it so I went with writing (and a few other things) instead.
  10. What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors, or grammar errors?
    That’s a hard one.  I can forgive spelling errors more easily because one of my best friends has dyslexia, and grammar errors are sometimes purposeful, so I guess punctuation errors.  But all of them get my blood boiling.
  11. What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?
    Sit down and write.  Turn off you inner editor and just write.  Maybe you’ll delete everything you wrote the next day, but at least you’re getting something out, and maybe it’ll help.
  12. What advice would you give to another writer?
    Write with emotion.  If you don’t put emotion into your writing, no one will get emotions reading it.
  13. What are your favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?
    NaNoWriMo’s site is really useful.  Otherwise, um, I don’t really go to websites.  I turn to my writing groups.
  14. Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?
    I love theater, especially lighting.  I’m also a big fan of tabletop RPGs and I have a regular group I game with about once a week.  Reading, of course.  And I like dancing – any kind.
  15. What is the best book you’ve read this year?
    I have to choose just one?  The best book I’ve read for the first time this year was probably The Kommandant’s Mistress by Sherri Szeman.
  16. What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?
    Woman in Gold
  17. What is your favorite book or series of all time?
    Not a surprise to people who read this blog, but the Malazan Book of the Fallen series by Steven Erikson and Ian C. Esslemont.
  18. Who is your favorite author?
    Tamora Pierce
  19. What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing?
    Use NaNoWriMo to try and finish up my horror-terrors sci-fi novel, then polish it in December so I can submit it to Angry Robot during their open door period.  I’m sure I’ll work on other things for a break, but that’s the main thing.
  20. Where else can we find you online?
    I don’t have anything else online other than a Facebook account that I’m currently not linking to this blog.  If that changes, I’ll update this post.

And now for the people I’m tagging… I mostly follow book review blogs, so I really don’t have that many people to tag:

Claire @ Art and Soul
Amanda @ Author Amanda McCormick

If I didn’t tag you and you want to participate, leave your link in the comments, please!

6 thoughts on “Confessions of a Writer

  1. Sam says:

    Dang, that was fast! Thanks so much for participating. I felt like we shared a lot of answers. I wish I could write every day, I envy that if you. I’m striving toward it! See you tomorrow? Later!

  2. siderealday says:

    I’m fresh from a writer’s group meeting and energized.
    I’ll see you tomorrow!

  3. […] was tagged by Sidereal Day in the Confessions of a Writer tag started by Nicolette! It’s always fun to get pulled into a […]

  4. Thank you for tagging me! I saw Sam’s answers yesterday and thought it looked like an interesting tag 🙂
    I’ll try and do this for my weekly tag post next week. I can view it as a good warm up for starting NaNoWriMo!
    I’ve hardly seen any movies this year, but I saw the trailer for Woman in Gold and thought it looked great. Then again, I’d watch Helen Mirren read the phone book.

Leave a Reply

