WWW Wednesday – 10/21

IMG_1384-0

It’s time for WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, just answer the three w’s (see below) and comment on Sam’s master post with a link to your WWW Wednesday post.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: finally started my reread of Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  I’m a couple of ‘chapters’/time periods into Philippa Gregory’s The Constant Princess, which is going slowly, and there’s been no progress on The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman, unfortunately.

Recently Finished: The reason I’ve made no progress on The Light Between Oceans is because I’ve been reading YA books like they’re candy – and because they’re due back at the library sooner since they’ve got outstanding holds after me.  So I managed to get through Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey, and Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.  I’m going to within the next twenty-four hours or so post a ‘blitz review’ of the five YA books I’ve read in the past two weeks, so everyone asking what I think about this or that of the YA books mentioned on Wednesdays should keep an eye out for that.

Also, I’ve DNF’d Prince of Thorns by Mark Lawrence.  It’s just not doing anything for me.

Reading Next: I’ve got several books out from the library, but I’d really like to focus on The Light Between Oceans, so we’ll see if I pick up anything new over the next week.

What are you reading?

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 10/21

  1. Oooo! Looking forward to your review of all those YA books together! I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and would like to read the Grisha Trilogy (I have to order in Shadow and Bone to the library).
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/www-wednesday-21st-october-2015/

    • siderealday says:

      I think I liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone a bit better, but both of them had room to improve. I’m hoping the second books in both series are more engrossing.

  2. I’ll be looking forward to your thoughts on the YA books! I’ve read both Daughter of Smoke and Bone, as well as Shadow and Bone (Really enjoyed both!) but I haven’t read The Girl at Midnight, though it’s on my TBR. Cool selections this week! ❤ Here's my WWW if you want to check it out.

    • siderealday says:

      Thanks. If you liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone, you’ll probably either love The Girl at Midnight or think it’s a total rip-off; they’ve got some very similar themes and plots.

  3. Emily Witt says:

    YA books are so easy to consume like candy! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on Daughter of Smoke and Bone; I’ve got it on my TBR but I’ve heard mixed reviews.

    • siderealday says:

      For good reason, I think. Although since this is a blitz review, I’m not going into too much detail, so I hope that doesn’t disappoint.

  4. Sam says:

    I hope you enjoy ‘The Constant Princess.’ I’m fascinated with Katarina de Aragon and her parents, Isabelle and Fernando. I visited the Alhambra palace they talk about in the beginning and that was able to draw me in right away. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      So far, I love Gregory’s descriptions – I can really picture the places she describes. And it’s clear she’s done a humongous amount of research. But Katarina herself isn’t really doing much for me – she feels much too arrogant. I’m hoping something changes that allows me to feel more than a distant sympathy for her situation.

  5. I hope you enjoy The Light Between the Oceans. I am still undecided if I want to continue reading it, so I look forward to your initial thoughts. Happy reading!

    https://girlof1000wonders.wordpress.com/2015/10/21/www-wednesdays-october-21/

Leave a Reply

