Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish.  Each week is a different bookish theme.  Make a post with your top ten for the theme and then go to the Broke and the Bookish’s post for the linky.

This week’s theme was a freebie, but Halloween themed.  So I’ve gone with my top ten favorite witchy books in the spirit of the holiday.  Not magic, not fantasy – witch.

1. Which Witch? by Eva Ibbotson – one of my favorite middlegrade books, and all about a coven of witches.  Yes, they’re competing to marry a guy, but there’s plenty of evil spells, back-stabbing, plotting, and witchy magic to keep me happy.

2. Children of the Night by Mercedes Lackey (the Diana Tregarde series) – all right, yes, Diana Tregarde is more than just a witch, but that’s what she was raised as and that’s what she thinks of herself as, even before her job as a Guardian.  Besides, her first instinct for magic is to reach for the witchy stuff, not the sorcerer rituals, so she totally counts as a witch in my eyes.

3. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness (the All Souls Trilogy) – Diana seems to be a popular name for witches.  Probably because some mythology calls the Roman goddess Diana (somewhat analogous to the Greek Artemis) the Queen of Witches.  I really need to read the rest of this trilogy.

4. The Pillars of the World by Anne Bishop (the Pillars of Tir Alainn trilogy) – mixing fae and witches always ensures some fun.  And, yes, there is yet another woman named Diana, although this time she’s fae rather than a witch.

5. The Witch Trade by Michael Molloy (The Night Witches) – yes it’s another middlegrade book, but this series has remained with me thanks mostly to the sheer amount of fun in it.

6. Wit’ch Fire by James Clemens (The Banned and the Banished) – it’s been a while since I’ve read this series, and I think it bends the rules a bit since I remember them calling magic-users mages, but I’m pretty sure the main character was called a witch, and that’s good enough for me.  Of course, I also remember the series being depressing, creepy, etc.  Yay?

7. Howl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones (the Howl’s Moving Castle series – witches and wizards abound, plus a good deal of practical magic and some other fun little oddities.  Not especially like the movie, although both are quite good.  Now I just need to read the rest of the series – why didn’t I know it was a series????

8. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling (the Harry Potter series) – what witchy list would be complete without it?  Yes, I had some issues with some of the later books, but I grew up with this series and overall it’s really great.

And here’s my two ‘honorable mentions’:

9. Dealing With Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede (the Enchanted Forest Chronicles) – no, she’s not the main character (hence the book being down here), but there is a witch who’s fairly important throughout the series, and several others who pop up.  To say nothing of those pesky wizards!

10. Seeing Eye by Patricia Briggs (short story in Shifting Shadows) – featuring a white witch and a werewolf.  And, of course, lots and lots of black witches.  It’s not listed above because it’s a short story, not a full-length book.

What are some of your favorite witch books?  Or Halloween/spooky books?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween

  1. I haven’t read any of the books you’ve listed in your post this week. Quite a few of them sound really good, so I’ll have to add them to me ever growing reading wishlist.

    Here’s a link to my TTT post for the week: http://captivatedreader.blogspot.com/2015/10/top-ten-tuesday-10-literary-halloween.html

    • siderealday says:

      Having issues leaving comments on blogspot sites, so I hope you check back here… Your costume ideas sound fantastic! Although Medusa’s snakes might be a bit difficult.
      I hope you read some of the above books – a lot of them are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

