Top Ten Tuesday – Authors Who Got Better

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Every week is a different theme – always book-related – that you pick your top ten for.  Then head over to b&b’s post to add your post to the linky.

This week’s theme was either Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward to Their Next Book OR Top Ten Authors Whose Sophomore Book was Better Than Their Debut.  I chose to do the second, although I’m playing a bit fast and loose with it, using series as well as book.

1. Steven Erikson – Gardens of the Moon was good.  Deadhouse Gates was better.

2. Tamora Pierce – again, I liked the first book she wrote, but I think the second one was stronger and I think later series have just been even better.

3. David Weber – I haven’t read Weber’s first published book, so I guess it’s cheating a bit to put him on this list, but his second book (On Basilisk Station) is fantastic.

4. Jay Kristoff – as much as they progressively broke my heart, the first two books of his Lotus War Trilogy went from great to greater.  Now I just need to read the third.

5. Ian C. Esslemont – his writing has gotten better with each book and I’ve felt more drawn to the characters with each one.

6. Anthony Ryan – this is flat out cheating because I haven’t read Tower Lord yet, but I have every hope that it will be at least as good as Blood Song, if not better.

And that’s all I’ve got this week.  Surprisingly enough, a lot of the authors I read are very prolific, so I can’t say that I’ve read their first book.  I could cheat and go by books by them that I’ve read, but… I think I’ll just leave it off here.  Happy Tuesday!

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Authors Who Got Better

  1. Greg says:

    I recognize several of those authors although I have not read them. I thought this was a tough one this week, although thanks to SciFi Month I cheated and did a different topic. 🙂

    http://gregsbookhaven.blogspot.com/2015/11/top-ten-star-wars-moments.html

    • siderealday says:

      It was really tough! I think this is the first time I didn’t have a full ten. I highly recommend all of these authors, although if you prefer sci-fi then you’ll probably like Weber and Kristoff more than the others.
      I’m having issues posting comments on blogspot, but you should know I like your SW moments. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

