Top Ten Tuesday – Ten New-To-Me Authors of 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week there’s a new theme and you make a top ten list that corresponds to the theme – or a twist on the theme.  Then add your post to the linky.

This week’s theme was Top Ten New-to-Me Favorite Authors I Read for the First Time in 2015.  My list:

               The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle, #2)Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle, #3)
1.
Maggie Stiefvater – I didn’t pick her up until a few months ago, but oh wow I love her.  I’ve only read the Raven Cycle, but I have the rest of her books on my TBR.

The Girl at Midnight (The Girl at Midnight, #1)
2.
Melissa Grey – she’s only got her debut novel, The Girl at Midnight, out, but I already love her.  I can’t wait for the second one.

          Blood Song (Raven's Shadow, #1)Tower Lord (Raven's Shadow, #2)Queen of Fire (Raven's Shadow, #3)
3. Anthony Ryan – I’ve only read the first of his Raven’s Shadow trilogy, but both of the other books are out.  I just have to get to them.

The Kommandants Mistress
4. Sherri Szeman – I’ll probably only ever read this one book, but it’s phenomenal and one of the best books I read this year, hands down, and for that alone she belongs on this list.

Midnight Riot (Peter Grant, #1)Moon Over Soho (Peter Grant, #2)Whispers Under Ground (Peter Grant, #3)Broken Homes (Peter Grant, #4)
5. Ben Aaronovitch – I really need to get caught back up with this series.  Aaronovitch has a good grasp of thrill, magic, and making London come alive for those of us who’ve only been there once for less than a week.  Also, major kudos to the audio narrater, Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, for keeping me engaged with this series.

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)
6. Sarah J. Maas – I’ve only read the first book each in her two series, but that’s not for lack of trying.  Already I love her style, although it’s clear that she’s grown as a writer between Throne of Glass and Court of Thorns and Roses, but Throne of Glass still drew me right in.  Can’t wait for my hold on the second ToG book to come in.

And that’s all the new-to-me authors I’ve fallen in love with this year.  Thanks to several of my rereads, I’ve been reminded why I love two other authors, however:

    Gardens of the Moon (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #1)Deadhouse Gates (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #2)Memories of Ice (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #3)House of Chains (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #4)
7.
Steven Erikson – this should come as no surprise to anyone who reads this blog, and I’m aware I talk about his work a lot, but it’s everything I love about epic/high fantasy.

On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington, #1)The Honor of the Queen (Honor Harrington, #2)The Short Victorious War (Honor Harrington, #3)Field of Dishonor (Honor Harrington, #4)
8. David Weber – I’ve not read or even liked all of his books, but the Honorverse reread I undertook constantly reminded me just why I like so many of Weber’s books.

Who are some of your favorite new authors?  Or some of your favorite ‘old’ authors?

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten New-To-Me Authors of 2015

  1. curiousdaisy says:

    I only read S. J. Mass this year too. You’re not the only one who’s late :/ Happy reading!
    Here’s my TTT https://ireadboooks.wordpress.com/2015/12/08/new-to-me-authors-2015/

  2. Ayunda says:

    I love Stiefvater, I’ve loved her for years and I’m so happy to find so many people finally recognizing her and liking her work! My TTT.

  3. Angelized1st says:

    Maggie Stiefvater and Sarah J. Maas were also two of my new authors read in 2015. I’ve almost read everything they’ve both written, but I still need to finish The Raven Cycle, and A Court of Thorn and Roses. Great list!

Leave a Reply

