WWW Wednesday – 12/14

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and comment on Sam’s masterpost with a link to your post.  Or just include your answers in the comment.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman and Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  Yes, still.  But I’m also about half-way through Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo, and I’ve recently started The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater.

Recently Finished: Just the one: Cinder by Marissa Meyer.  Very good, but I’m expecting subsequent books to get better.
I’ve also decided to DNF The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows at the half-way point.  It’s just not interesting me in terms of character, I’m getting tired of sheer, dumb luck on the part of the ‘good guys’ and stupidity/incredulity on the part of the ‘bad guys’ dictating the plot, and the world isn’t interesting enough to overcome those short-comings.

Reading Next: I’m waiting on a bunch of books from the library, so we’ll see.  I suspect it will be either Scarlet by Marissa Meyer, Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, or Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan.

What are you reading?

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 12/14

  1. I have The Light Between Oceans to start next week! 🙂
    The Lunar Chronicles get better as you go. However, I would say that Scarlet is my least favourite (mainly because Scarlet isn’t my preferred character) so please stick with the series if that one doesn’t grip you. Cress and Winter are great.
    Crown of Midnight is still my favourite ToG book. I hope it comes in soon.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/www-wednesday-16th-december-2015/

    • siderealday says:

      They’re easy enough reads so far, so I figure I’ll finish it up since the series is all out, regardless of how I feel about each individual book.
      Happy reading!

  2. Sam says:

    I’m still pulling for you to finish ‘The Light Between Oceans.’ Are you at least close to the end? Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      No…. But I have a long road trip coming up, and I figure that, if nothing else, will give me a lot of ‘sitting in one place’ time. And if I prioritize it then, I can probably finish it over the course of one way (it’s about a four hour drive there). Of course I’d like to finish it before then, but that’s my worst-case, pull-out-the-stops scenario. And the only reason I’m procrastinating is because I own it now while the other books I’m reading are library loans.
      Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

