2015 – A Look-back

So, with 2015 over, I’ve decided to look back a bit at my blog posts and challenges and, in case anyone’s interested, I’m going to post my thoughts on my blog.  Please, feel free to skip this if that sort of thing doesn’t appeal to you at all.

Challenge Progress: I only had one year-long challenge, and that was Sam’s When Are You Reading? Challenge.  I failed, managing only 7/12 books, and I haven’t even managed to get up the last two reviews I said I would write for the books read for the challenge.  I’m still trying to decide whether I want to participate this year.
As for mini-challenges, I participated in the third Bout of Books of 2015 and enjoyed myself immensely.  I plan to participate in all three of this year’s, time providing.

Posts: I like the at-least-twice-a-week schedule of Top Ten Tuesday and WWW Wednesday, so I’ll be trying to keep up with both of those.

Reviews: I’ve also found that I like writing reviews, so I’ll try to write reviews for every new book I read.  That’ll be easiest for the YA fiction I’m reading since I’m doing ‘blitz reviews’ with a lump of five or seven together, but I’m going to try and do that for all of the non-YA as well.  Which means I’ll try and initiate a five-star system along the lines of Goodreads’ star system.

Writing: I have a lot of rants/thoughts on writing and writing styles saved up and I’m going to try to polish some of those up and post them throughout the year, with more to come as more thoughts occur to me.  I go back and forth on posting excerpts from things I’m writing, even if I think it’s a scrap I’ll end up tossing because you never know what you’re going to recycle, but I might post some writing exercises from my writers’ groups.
Honestly, it’s more likely what I post will be scraps of translation projects, so Japanese poetry in various stages of cleaned up translation.

And that looks like a pretty good rundown of what’s going to get posted this year as well as how I feel about where this blog’s been.  For something I started because I needed a blog to enter a contest, this site is shaping up to be something I look forward to posting on.

Happy New Year to everyone, and good health and good luck in 2016!

2 thoughts on “2015 – A Look-back

  1. Looking forward to seeing your writing posts! I also go back and forth on publishing things I’ve written on my blog… Hopefully this year I might put some flash fiction up 🙂
    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

