Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2015 But Didn’t

d1260-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was top ten 2015 debuts I meant to read but didn’t.  I just took out the word ‘debut’ and here we have it: the Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2015 But Didn’t.

1. The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman – I had this book for a while, and I even managed to start it.  But I didn’t get very far.  I’m doing a lot better with it now in 2016, thankfully.

2. Tower Lord by Anthony Ryan – I ended up collecting and reading library books that were in hotter demand, so I didn’t get to this sequel yet, which is mostly disappointing because of how much I loved the first book and how eager I am to see where this series is going to go.

3. Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson (reread) – I completely meant to get through this one by now so that I could move on to the Dust of Dreams reread (same author).  Oops.

4. Tom McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern books – I’ve read all of Anne McCaffrey’s, but not all of Tom’s, and I’ve read some of them out of order (his all take place around the same time, some concurrently), and now that they seem to have stopped coming out, I want to get through them in the right order.

5. The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss – this book has been on my TBR ever since it came out in 2007.  I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet!  My only excuse has been waiting for the sequels, although considering those’re taking about as long as ASOIAF to come out, my eagerness is starting to overcome my patience – or laziness, depending on who you ask, I suppose.

6. This Rough Magic by Mercedes Lackey, Eric Flint, and Dave Freer – I liked The Shadow of the Lion, but it left off with the main issue dealt with and a lot of unanswered questions, plus one major Big Bad.  I really need to read the sequels, not just This Rough Magic.

7. For Such a Time by Kate Breslin – there’s been a lot of talk about this book, positive and negative, and I read a book that is similar in premise (Jewish girl in concentration camp meets Nazi commandant), The Kommandant’s Mistress by Sherri Szeman.  I wanted to compare a historical romance to a historical anti-romance, and never mind that I’m pretty sure both women are not Jewish.  Unfortunately not to be, as I haven’t been able to find a free copy of FSaT (I don’t like buying books unless I’m gifting them or know that I’ll like them).

8. Twilight’s Dawn by Anne Bishop – a collection of novellas written for Bishop’s Black Jewels series.  I thought I read it when I first got it a couple years ago, but apparently not – I flipped through one of the stories and nothing that happened in it felt like something I’d read before.

9. Dead Heat by Patricia Briggs – this came out in March of last year.  MARCH.  And I still haven’t read it?  I’m amazed at myself; normally I grab her books off the shelves as soon as I see them.  On the other hand, I haven’t found it at my local library (yet) and I also have yet to see it in paperback.  That might explain the mystery.

10. Any book I got for Hannukka – I’ve just had so many books out from the library that I haven’t had time yet!

What books did you mean to read last year and didn’t?  Got any good excuses?  Mine are starting to wear a bit thin!

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I Meant to Read in 2015 But Didn’t

  1. Briggs is a favorite author of mine, but I’ve started getting them in kindle form, so they just poof onto my e-reader.
    I’m in the same boat on the McCaffrey and Lackey books. I’ve read some of their books by/with other people, but I have no idea which ones.
    The best excuse is the simplest one–there are always more books than time! 😉

    • siderealday says:

      So true!
      As for e-readers, I still prefer physical books, and my purses/bags are big enough for me to indulge in that preference and still always have a book, so I don’t own a kindle or anything like that. Maybe it would be easier if I did.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  2. Yvo says:

    The Name Of The Wind is SO good, I hope you get to it this year!

  3. I hope you get a chance to read all these this year!

  4. Angelized1st says:

    I really enjoyed A Light Between the Oceans. Hope you finish it!

Leave a Reply

