WWW Wednesday – 1/13

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Progress continues apace with my reread of Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  I got into a good pattern thanks to Bout of Books last week, and it’s showing.
Same thing can be said for The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman.  Reading it in two chapter chunks is helping because it makes me sit there and read about 15 pages or less (short chapters) once a day, which is helping me get through it.  More on why it was so difficult to get through this once I put up a review (I’ve got a pretty good idea by this point).And I’ve got about ten stories left in Crucible: All-New Tales of Valdemar edited by Mercedes Lackey.  I read one story last week during Bout of Books and then put it down, but that’s because this was a Hannukka gift, and therefore something I own rather than a library book.

Recently Finished: Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas got finished during Bout of Books, as did volume one of the manga W Juliet.
Since that ended, I’ve gotten through volumes 2-6 of W Juliet, as well as Cress by Marissa Meyer and Fairest by Marissa Meyer.  I also started and finished Twilight’s Dawn by Anne Bishop, a book of novellas I’ve had for a few years but never read before for some reason (I thought I had, but the stories were definitely new to me).

Reading Next: I’ve got Marie Lu’s Rose Society out from the library with a very definitive return date, so I’m going to try to get through that next.  I also have to reread Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff so I can read the conclusion to the Lotus War trilogy.  And I’ve got two other books out from the library with more flexible return waits (yay for reading books with no holds on them).  So Rose Society will (almost) definitely be next.
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, Winter by Marissa Meyer, and Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas all have long hold lists, with me at the end of most of them, or at least pretty darned close.  Here’s hoping, right?

What are all of you reading?  Anyone else waiting at the wrong end of a hold list?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 1/13

  1. I hope you’re still enjoying the Lunar Chronicles and Throne of Glass series. I think they’re both highly entertaining series although I’d say the Lunar Chronicles is more fluffy and fun (and I don’t say that as a bad thing).
    I’m looking forward to your thoughts on The Light Between Oceans because I had very mixed feelings about the book.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/01/13/www-wednesday-13th-january-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      That’s a good summation for my feelings about The Light Between Oceans right now.
      I am still enjoying both of the series, though. The Lunar Chronicles are a perfect blend of fairy tale and new, and a lot of fun. Which is a nice balance to the more serious tone taken with Throne of Glass. Although LC are also serious and ToG is also fun.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  2. Yvo says:

    There are a lot of great books and series on your list! Throne Of Glass, The Lunar Chronicles, The Grisha, Six Of Crows… I hope you keep enjoying them!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

  3. Sam says:

    Sounds like you had a very successful Bout of Books! Congratulations. I’m always surprised by the FCL holds. I guess a lot of people don’t pick up their hold books because I’ve flown through a list but I’ve also been on one for six months (Gone Girl). Best of luck. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

