Top Ten Tuesday – New Books Added to My TBR

d1260-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added to My TBR:

Now You See It . . .1. Now You See It… by Vivian Vande Velde
(I just picked this book up from a used bookstore.  I love VVV’s books so much, I’m really excited to get to this one)

Ready Player One
2.
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
(Yes, yes, it’s been out for a while now, but I haven’t read it and it also hasn’t been on my TBR for some reason.  Now it is.)

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird, #1)
3.
A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray
(Dimension hopping and something that’s been called similar to Orphan Black?  Why didn’t I know about this one sooner?)

Station Eleven
4.
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
(I didn’t add it to my TBR list until December, so that’s new enough, right?)

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act (The Wicked + The Divine, #1)
5. 
The Wicked + The Divine, volume 1 by Kieron Gillen, Jamie McKelvie (illustrator), Matt Wilson (colorist), and Clayton Cowles
(I love graphic narratives, I love mythology, and I love modern-day gods.  This sounds like it’s got all three in good doses.)

Never Let Me Go
6.
Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishigoro
(This sounds kind of creepy, which I like, but also with enough non-horror to keep me from getting too scared.  Which is good, as I don’t tend to like straight-out horror.)

Nimona
7.
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
(Deadpan humor, a setting straight out of a fantasy tabletop, and a cool-looking art style.  I really want to read this one.)

The Black Company (The Chronicle of the Black Company, #1)
8.
The Black Company by Glen Cook
(For all that BC gets compared a lot to Malazan Book of the Fallen, I’ve never read it and it wasn’t on my TBR list for the longest time.  I’ve since remedied the latter; hopefully I’ll soon fix the former.)

Phoebe and Her Unicorn (Heavenly Nostrils, #1)
9.
Phoebe and Her Unicorn by Dana Simpson
(They started printing this in my local newspaper at the end of last year and I’m in love.  I need more now.)

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania
10.
Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson
(I love Erik Larson. I love WWII-era books, fiction and non-fiction alike. Hence this (relatively) new release’s appearance on this list.)

There were other books that could have made this list, but I decided to keep to the spirit and limit it to books I’m pretty sure have been added to my TBR as of December at the earliest.  So while there are a bunch of new releases out this month, they are books that have been on my TBR for months and months.

Anyone reading these books?  Any thoughts on them?

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – New Books Added to My TBR

  1. A Thousand Pieces of You…Orphan Black? I was interested before (mainly because cover lust, let’s be honest) but now I might need this more if it’s compared to OB! I mean if there’s a Helena in the story…oh my…

    Cheers,
    Joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts.

    • siderealday says:

      I know right? But I’m trying not to get too excited about the comparison, because usually those comparisons just aren’t right or accurate, and then I can get disappointed.
      Happy reading!

  2. Elin says:

    Station Eleven sound very interesting, need to read that book someday. I seen the movie to never let me go and it was amazing. Little creepy but a great movie. Hope you like the book 😉

  3. Carrie says:

    I’ve heard great things about Station Eleven! My TTT

  4. Sam says:

    So many good books! I’m reading Dead Wake now and love it. Never Let Me Go is haunting and beautiful. Ready Player One is so much fun. You’ll love them all.

    I’ve nomination you for the Sunshine Blogger award. You can view the nomination here: https://samannelizabeth.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/sunshine-blogger-award/
    Happy reading!

    • siderealday says:

      I’m glad to hear it. I can’t wait to start getting my hands on some of these.

      Thanks so much for the nomination! I’m really flattered.

      Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

