WWW Wednesday – 1/20

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: I’m still working my way through my reread of Toll the Hounds, but a long car drive has given me a lot of time to read it.  Which is a mixed blessing, because Steven Erikson writes some pretty dark stuff and some pretty philosophical stuff, and I like time to digest bites of his work.
I’m about halfway through The Rose Society by Marie Lu.  This is another book I have trouble reading for long stretches of time, but in this case it’s because of the dark emotions Lu evokes through her main character.  It’s intense, and I’m still not sure what I think of Adelina, and breaks are a necessity.  For me, at least.
And I’m halfway through the e-book The Alpha and His Ace by Ana J. Phoenix.  I got it because it’s free and it looked like it was going to be hilarious for one reason or another.  Also, I have some really close friends who are ace, and I thought it would be interesting to read a book with a romance that won’t – can’t – include sex.  So far, it’s entertaining, and that’s all I demand from books.  Plus, it’s a nice light break from all the depressing and hateful stuff going on in my other books right now.

Recently Finished: I finally did it!  I’m done with The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman.  Review to come sometime next week.  All I’ll say for now is that it is a beautiful book but I have some pretty mixed feelings about it.
I also got through Crucible edited by Mercedes Lackey.  I’ll get a review for this one up later on, too, although I’m not sure what form it’s going to take since this was a collection of short stories.

Reading Next: I have some books out from the library and I just bought a bunch of books from an awesome used book store.  I’ll probably read some of my new books next, but I’m not sure which one I’ll grab.  So no predictions.

What are all of you reading?

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 1/20

  1. You finished The Light Between Oceans! Yay! I had mixed feelings too so will look out for your review 🙂
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/www-wednesday-20th-january-2016/

  2. Sam says:

    Yay! You finally finished it. I feel like I did when I finished Cloud Atlas. Can’t wait to hear what you think. I’ll try to find time to read it. Missed you at the group last night. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      I’m sorry I missed, too, but I had this big family thing come up. And it feels good to have finally gotten through Light Between Oceans.
      Thanks for hosting, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

