Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Settings

f42df-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten Historical/Futuristic Settings I’d Love to Read in Books.  I like both, so I did five for each.

Historical

1. 1800’s Japan – the time when the change from feudal society to modernized society was on the horizon, and then when it started happening.  Just pre-Meiji to Meiji Era.  I love seeing how different people coped with the vast changes sweeping through their society.  My favorite book that I’ve read from this time period is definitely Cloud of Sparrows by Takashi Matsuoka.

2. Tudor England – specifically anything to do with Elizabeth I, whether she be princess or queen.  There’s a lot of good books from this time period because a lot of people write about it, but one of my favorites is the middle grade/YA book Beware, Princess Elizabeth by Carolyn Meyer.

3. WWII-era – both the Pacific and European Fronts, fiction and nonfiction, people back home in the States or in the British countryside trying to deal with things, anything and everything I can get my hands on.  One of my favorite fictional novels from this era is Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet by Jamie Ford, but if you’re looking for nonfiction, check out Navajo Weapon: The Navajo Code Talkers by Sally McClain.

4. Ancient Greece – specifically anything that re-imagines Greek mythology in any way.  I highly recommend the middle-grade Myth-o-Mania series by Kate McMullan.

5. U.S. Civil War – I’m not sure why this appeals to me so much, but I love reading about this era, especially anything to do with the Battle of Gettysburg.  My favorite book set in this time period would have to be The Killer Angels by Jeff Shaara.

Futuristic

1. Space Stations – I love books that take place on space stations, either ones that orbit an inhabited planet or a deserted moon and everything in between.  Unfortunately, I haven’t found many books that deal with this setting, so somebody recommend some to me, please!  But if you like TV shows, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine has this setting.

2. Space Ships – a crew trapped together on a space ship, forced to depend on each other to survive.  For TV show examples, see Firefly or the anime series Outlaw Star.  Among books, some of the earlier Honor-verse books by David Weber would be good examples, although they tend to be better examples of…

3. Multiple Alien Worlds – colonized by humans, already populated by aliens of any sentience and any level of technology, or both.  As previously stated, David Weber’s Honor-verse would be a good example.  If we’re looking at TV shows, Star Trek: The Original Series or Star Trek: Next Generation would be good examples.

4. Colonized Worlds That Don’t Remember Earth – whether the colony ship crashed or they were always trying to get so far away from the rest of the human race, I love series where the people have lost so much that they no longer remember they aren’t the native species.  Usually this is paired with limited technology and the reunion with other human beings can go interestingly.  My favorite example of this is the Dragonriders of Pern series by Anne McCaffrey (now with some books by Todd McCaffrey).

I suppose, rightfully speaking, this should be Dystopia because that tends to be the other major futuristic setting I read, but I don’t actually like it all that much anymore.  Too much burn out, I suppose.  So…

5. Fantasy Worlds That Aren’t Earth – any fantasy world that has no sci-fi, isn’t a lost colony, etc.  Just a world out of the author’s imagination that tends to have more fantastical elements than scientific elements.  One of my favorites of this type is the world of Emelan, setting of the Circle of Four books by Tamora Pierce, among others.
(Why yes, I did just have a chance to reference a different series, near and dear to my heart, but I figured I should give some of my other favorites a voice)

Anyone else like these time periods/settings?  Anyone have any recommendations for books that take place in them?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Settings

  1. James White’s Hospital Station has a space station setting–an enormous hospital for all kinds of interesting species with different needs for atmosphere, temperature, etc.

  2. Lauren says:

    I really love the way you organized you list- more than just “fantasy worlds” or “space.” There are so many different types of societies in sci-fi and fantasy works that I never could understand how people lump them all together!

    • siderealday says:

      Yes there are, which is why I always ask people about specific sub-genres before I start handing out recommendations (and also why I was actually able to split this list).
      Thanks for visiting!

  3. Greg Hill says:

    I would love to see more books set on space stations, preferably in the far future where space travel is commonplace. I love the concept of Deep Space Nine but haven’t watched much of it- hope to one of these days.

    Space ships too- I’m really fond of the generation ship concept, although the ones I’ve read have been hit or miss. Would love to see a really good new one. Colonized worlds too- an older favorite of mine is Planet of Exile by Ursula LeGuin. It’s a very short book but good. Pern is a cool planet.

    I like straight fantasy worlds too. For whatever reason I like those and scifi but I don’t always like them mixed up. 🙂

    • siderealday says:

      Deep Space Nine is very different from the other Star Trek series I’ve seen because they can have a bigger rotating cast thanks to the space station. Also because of where they went with themes and war after Roddenberry died. If you like space stations, you’ll probably like at least the first few seasons.

      Completely understandable to like some separation in your sub-genres. If I get too much science in something I thought was fantasy, I can get pretty annoyed, and vice versa.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  4. Carrie says:

    i love Hotel at the Corner of Bitter and Sweet as well! One of my very faves! My TTT

  5. Tamora Pierce made my list this week, too! Love to see other people giving her love as well 🙂

    My TTT.

    Also, feel free to check out our giveaway.

    • siderealday says:

      She’s one of my favorite authors. I don’t think I’ve ever been disappointed when I’ve read her books, even if I like some (a lot) more than others.

      I’m having some trouble posting comments to blogspot accounts, so let me just say that I love that Tortall and Riva made your list.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

