Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Good Books That Aren’t Spec-Fic

fd4d4-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently (last yearish) That Weren’t My Typical Genre/Type of Book.  So since I normally read speculative fiction (sci-fi/fantasy), this is everything but.

So, here we go:

Bring Up the Bodies (Thomas Cromwell, #2)
1.
Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
(Fabulous book, but I don’t often read historical fiction)

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club
2.
The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine
(Cute retelling of the Twelve Dancing Princesses, and enough historical fiction that I don’t feel bad adding it to a non-spec-fic list)

Meet Your Baker (A Bakeshop Mystery, #1)
3.
Meet Your Baker by Ellie Alexander
(I loved the baking and theatrical backdrop)

The Light Between Oceans
4.
The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman
(Not an easy read, but beautiful descriptions, and I know a lot of people who loved it)

Go Set a Watchman
5.
Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
(Not anywhere near as good as TKAM, I still enjoyed the read)

After Iris (The Diaries of Bluebell Gadsby, #1)
6.
After Iris by Natasha Farrant
(Okay, so epistolary YA is something I love, but I still normally read spec-fic, and this was so cute I’m counting it)

The Kommandant's Mistress
7.
The Kommandant’s Mistress by Sherri Szeman
(Very emotional)

The Alpha and His Ace (The Alpha and His Ace #1)
9.
The Alpha and His Ace by Ana J. Phoenix
(I almost never pick up romances, and, though I had some problems, it was a quick read, plus it’s not often you get this kind of representation in media of any kind – and I wanted to get as close to ten as possible)

And that’s all I’ve got.  Everything else I read in the past year falls into what I would call speculative fiction, and yes, that includes the graphic novels/comic books I read (with the exception of W Juliet, but that was a reread).

Anyone got some thoughts on my list?

Leave a Reply

