WWW Wednesday – 3/2

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Still rereading Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  The only reason it’s taking so long is I keep getting distracted by new books, oops.
I’m almost done with The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky and I have to say, I’m kind of disappointed.  I love modern day Greek gods, and I like the balance Brodsky’s managed, but the gods aren’t how I pictured them, and I think that’s getting in the way of my enjoyment.  Especially Hades, who’s one of my favorites, and doesn’t get a good treatment (no real surprise, given that Artemis is the main character).
I also started The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy yesterday.  Not too far into it, but so far I’m very underwhelmed.  I can already tell that this is going to be another one that I’ll struggle to get through.

Recently Finished: It’s been a good week for finishing up books: Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas, Soundless by Richelle Mead, Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, and Winter by Marissa Meyer.
Monday’s YA Blitz Reviews includes my reviews for Queen of Shadows (generally favorable, but I had a couple issues) and Soundless (very disappointing), and my review for Ready Player One will be up tomorrow.  Winter was amazing and I loved it, but that review won’t be up for a while as it will be part of YA Blitz Review Part 5, probably up later this month.

Reading Next: Good question. Maybe I’ll finally get around to that reread of Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff so I can read the final book in the series.  On the other hand, I’ve been holding onto Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore for long enough that apparently it’s due back in a little over a week.  So that one’s a higher priority for now.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 3/2

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed Winter! I thought it was great (if a bit long). Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Ready Player One – I had mixed feelings.
    I’ve had Mr Penumbra’s on my TBR for ages! You can tell me whether I should keep it on there 🙂

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/www-wednesday-2nd-march-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      It definitely didn’t need to be that long – several subplots could have been cut without ruining my enjoyment of the whole – but I thought it was a great conclusion to the series.
      So far, I’m not super-impressed by Mr. Penumbra, unfortunately, but we’ll see if that changes as I get further in.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  2. Great choices! I really liked Ready Player One and my dad enjoyed it as well. It starts off a bit slow but it really picked up by the end of it.

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday post:
    http://wonderfilledreads.com/2016/03/02/www-wednesday-march-2nd-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      I had a lot of issues with Ready Player One, actually, as I hope I make clear in the review going up tomorrow. Yes, there were parts I loved, but there were also a lot of parts that I had problems with.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  3. Sam says:

    I hope you liked ‘Ready Player One.’ That was a book I flew through and really liked. Mr. Penumbra was a road trip book for my husband and I which we both enjoyed a lot. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      Ready Player One had some enjoyable moments, and I did fly through it, but I also had a lot of issues with it. So far I’m finding Mr. Penumbra kind of slow, but I’m not that far into it, so hopefully that’ll change.
      Thanks for hosting, and happy reading!

  4. I haven’t read Ready Player One (despite my library friend’s insistence), but I do have Armada (signed) that I will read…eventually.

    • siderealday says:

      I’ll get to Armada one of these months.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!
      (and sorry for delayed response; recovering from bad bout of flu)

Leave a Reply

