WWW Wednesday – 3/16

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Still rereading Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  I swear I’ll finish this and get on to the next one someday soon.
My sister loaned me The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley, but I only get it for a week, so I have to get through it quickly.  I’m not too far in yet, and so far the world feels pretty similar to Malazan (including the steep learning curve), but we’ll see if I end up attached to any of the characters.

Recently Finished: I managed to get through The 5th Wave by Rick Yancy.  My review for it will end up in my next YA Blitz Review post, but, for now, let me just say I’m honestly not sure how I feel about it.
My hold on Marked in Flesh (The Others #4) by Anne Bishop came in so I focused pretty heavily on that because I love this series and actually managed to finish it yesterday.  I liked it but I’m starting to think the plot’s getting repetitive/too dragged out, but that might just be me.  Review should be up within the next day or two.

Reading Next: I swear I’ll actually get to that reread of Jay Kristoff’s Kinslayer because gosh darn it I really want to read the conclusion to the Lotus War trilogy.  But I also finally got my hands on a copy of A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab, sooooo…. it’ll probably be that.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 3/16

  1. Yes! You finally got your copy of A Darker Shade of Magic! I really hope you like it 🙂
    I’ve heard other people have not so warm reactions to The 5th Wave which is why it isn’t on my TBR.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/03/16/www-wednesday-16th-march-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      Well, it’s not MY copy (I’m borrowing my sister’s), but I’m looking forward to reading it at last.
      Yeah, I liked the idea of 5th Wave, but the story itself was weird.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

  2. Sam says:

    Yay for A Darker Shade of Magic! I think that one will be right up your ally and please trust me on this one even if I was wrong about ‘A Light Between Oceans’ haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      It’s okay I still trust you. You’ve been right more often than wrong in my experience, after all, and no one’s tastes line up perfectly. And I’m very excited to get to ADSoM later this week/next week.
      Thanks for hosting, and happy reading!

  3. I have seen a lot of people feeling mixed (or not so much in the like department) about The 5th Wave. One of my students just started it before spring break, and he is the type of kid to freak out and not be OK with major twists, so I had to forewarn him to keep an open mind.

    https://girlof1000wonders.wordpress.com/2016/03/16/www-wednesdays-march-16/

    • siderealday says:

      Probably a good thing you warned him – there were a decent number of twists. And definitely a lot of material to make one paranoid.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

