Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I Haven’t Talked Up Enough

f42df-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten Books I Love But Don’t Talk About Enough (On My Blog).  Some of you might be relieved to find that a certain series I love and talk about all the time didn’t make this list. 😉

The Riddle of the Wren
1. The Riddle of the Wren by Charles de Lint
One of my favorite books, I love the characters and the journey and the magic system so much.  And it’s a nice, short read.

The Redemption of Althalus
2.
The Redemption of Althalus by David and Leigh Eddings
My main issue with most of the books these two have written is that they start feeling repetitive, especially in terms of character personalities, but this remains one of my favorites overall and definitely my favorite Eddings book.

Wolfblade (Hythrun Chronicles: Wolfblade, #1)Harshini (Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child, #3)
3.
The Hythrun Chronicles: Wolfblade and The Hythrun Chronicles: Demon Child by Jennifer Fallon
A prequel trilogy and a sequel trilogy that I absolutely adore.  Do Marla, Damin, R’Shiel, and the other main characters make stupid choices sometimes?  Absolutely.  But I love the character development and the journeys they go on.

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)
4.
The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
Yes, the series isn’t complete yet, but I have loved all three books so far and I anticipate loving the final one, too.

The Dark Glory War (The DragonCrown War Cycle prequel)
5.
The Dark Glory War by Michael A. Stackpole
I don’t normally like first person narratives – this one, however, I will always make an exception for.  It probably helps that the sequel series, the DragonCrown War Cycle, is multi-POV third person, but also that Tarrant is genuinely a likable young man trying to make the best of his situation.

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small, #4)
6.
The Protector of the Small series by Tamora Pierce
My favorite of the Tortall-based series that Pierce writes.  Kel is, without a doubt, my favorite of the Tortall-based heroines (although Beka Cooper is a very close second), partially because she’s not your standard female fantasy character and partially because I love her story line.

Abhorsen (Abhorsen, #3)
7.
The Abhorsen trilogy by Garth Nix
A unique system of magic that uses bells mixed with good necromancers and unforgettable characters (well, Mogget and the Dog, at least).
(And yes, I know there are more than three books now)

Tris's Book (Circle of Magic, #2)
8.
The Circle of Magic series by Tamora Pierce
I adore all of the Emelan books Pierce has put out, but the first series remains near and dear to my heart since I first read them at the tender age of ten.  My favorite of the four is Tris’s Book, pictured above, the second in the series, because Tris was and remains my favorite character in this series.  But if you’re looking for ‘craft’ magic, multiple magic systems, and sibling-by-choice relationships, this is what you should be reading.  TW for child abuse and gore, however.

We
9.
We by Yevgeny Zamyatin
Some might call this similar to Ayn Rand’s Anthem, but I found it much more compelling and it has stuck with me for a lot longer than Anthem did.

The House on Mango Street
10.
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
One of the few ‘classic’ books I actually like, the vignette nature of this book made it one of the books I loved reading for an English class in high school.  Great family relationships, great coming-of-age story, and the vignette style really worked for me here.

What are some books you don’t think you talk enough about?

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books I Haven’t Talked Up Enough

  1. What are the things she has strung across her in Abhorsen? Here’s my TTT

  2. I haven’t read any of these books except for The Raven Boys, which I LOVE and have to reread sometime soon — I’m so not up-to-date with the series and would really love to be!

    Here are my picks. 🙂

  3. The Raven Boys would have been on my list, except for the fact I talk about it all the time. I can’t wait for the fourth book!

    • siderealday says:

      Yes, it’s an easy series to talk about, but I don’t discuss it all the time, so I was able to put it on here. I, too, am eagerly awaiting next month’s release. I’m going to cry, I’m sure, but at least the wait for the worst will be over.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I love The Raven Boys too, but I talk about it too much to include it on my list this week!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/22/top-ten-tuesday-49/

  5. I’ve never heard of The House on Mango Street… I’m intrigued!

  6. I was supposed to read The House on Mango Street for one of my classes, but then my professor decided to make us read something else instead. I had been looking forward to reading it, but then I never got around to it. It’s one of those books that I always forget about, and then I will see it mentioned and remember it again!

    • siderealday says:

      If you remember, you really should read it. I happened to read it for a class, but I ended up liking it a lot and I keep meaning to reread it one of these days.

  7. Jenny Duffy says:

    I have been meaning to read Tamora Pierce, I’ve heard a lot of good things 🙂

    • siderealday says:

      I grew up reading her and I still look forward to new books from her. When you have time, you should pick up something of hers. Pretty much any first book in a series will work, although I wouldn’t start with Beka Cooper if you’re reading the Tortall books and the Emelan books really should be read in publication order.

Leave a Reply

