WWW Wednesday – 3/23

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: I started A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwabb and it is amazing!  Everything everyone said it would be and more.  I’ll probably have finished it by the end of tomorrow, actually, at the latest.

Recently Finished: It was a good week for reading.  I finished The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley (review here), Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs (review coming tomorrow), and Thomas Jefferson and the Pirates of Tripoli by Brian Kilmeade and Don Yaeger (review coming Friday).
I also (finally) finished my reread of Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  That one took way too long thanks to my distraction with new reads.

Reading Next: I swear I will finally get to my reread of Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff so I can read Endsinger and finish that trilogy.  That way I will feel complete and can move onto his other book, the collaborative work The Illuminae Files.  I also still have about eight other books out from the library to read, too.  So I won’t be too surprised if I change my mind about what I’m reading next.  I have so often, after all.
And, of course, I’ll be picking up Stonewielder by Ian C. Esslemont to continue my Malazan reread, although this one is a first time read, but this is where it fits in chronologically as best as I can determine, so now is when I’ll start it.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 3/23

  1. I’m so glad you’re enjoying ADSOM. This means you have the sequel to look forward to! 🙂

    I liked Illuminae very much too. The formatting can be a bit off-putting at times and mean it takes a little while to get into, but once it gets going it’s incredibly entertaining.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/03/23/www-wednesday-23rd-march-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      That’s the very best part! The worst part is that I’ll have to wait a year for book three. 🙂
      And definitely looking forward to Illuminae in a few weeks (since I expect that’s the earliest I’ll get around to it).
      Thanks for visiting!

  2. Greg says:

    I’ll have to watch for your Fire Touched review as I’ve been mulling whether to try Patricia Briggs. I know I should start with Moon Called and probably will, but I’m curious. 🙂 Also hope you like Illuminae as well- I didn’t love it as much as some did, but it a solid read.

    • siderealday says:

      I’ve enjoyed Kristoff’s Lotus War trilogy (the 2/3 I’ve read, at least), so I’m expecting to like Illuminae, but we’ll see. And I hope you don’t let my review of Fire Touched put you off – it was not the strongest entry in the series, and I was honest about that, but I think the series as a whole is still worth reading.

  3. Sam says:

    Glad you finally finished ‘Toll the Hounds!’ Congrats. Enjoy. ADSoM. It was really enjoyable for me and I’m looking forward to grabbing the sequel at some point. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

