Review – Fire Touched

Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson, #9)Fire Touched (Mercy Thompson #9) by Patricia Briggs
Synopsis from GoodReads:
Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen long ago by the fae.

Defying the most powerful werewolf in the country, the humans, and the fae, Mercy, Adam, and their pack choose to protect the boy no matter what the cost. But who will protect them from a boy who is fire touched?

For those who don’t know, I love this series and its sister series, Alpha & Omega.  I love the direction both series are taking, and I love the character growth and development I’m seeing for so many characters.  I won’t talk about my favorite change due to major series spoilers, but I will say to those of you just starting out: Ben has become one of my favorites for multiple reasons, so give him a chance to grow on you.

Now, for my review of this book.  This one felt a lot slower-paced than other books in the series.  A bit like a breather episode, if you will.  A lot of very necessary conversations happened, and I understand and agree with a lot of the decisions made, but there was definitely a lack of page-turning action other than the first couple chapters and the last couple.

This left a lot of time for character growth and development, always a favorite of mine, but characters who should have been developed more in this book got a bit left behind, I felt.  For example, Aiden, the boy mentioned in the summary.  He’s so integral to this book, and yet I’m still not sure that we actually got to know him.  His personality shifted, but it felt more plot-dictated than anything to me.

On the other hand, it was nice to see Adam finally lay down some laws to his pack.  They couldn’t keep on as they were, divided and fighting, so it was good to see him forcing them together finally.

Although I sympathize so much with Mercy’s feelings about Bran’s major decision in and contribution to this book’s story line, I completely agree with why he made it and I don’t think he could have done anything else and remained who and what he is.  It definitely gave me feels, though, so well done, Ms. Briggs.

In short, if you like the other books in this series, you’ll probably like this one, but it is a lot more talking and the stakes don’t feel as high as they have in other books.  But it definitely feels like a set up for something bigger, so I’m getting excited for the next books in the series.  And I will always enjoy reading fae plots being terminated with extreme prejudice.

3.5 stars out of 5 possible.  Enjoyable, but I know she can do better.

Leave a Reply

