Top Ten Tuesday – Recent Gems and Rocks

f42df-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten of My Most Recent 5-Star (or 1-Star) Reads, but I haven’t given any books those ratings yet (not on this blog, at least).  So I’m giving you my Top Five Recent* Book Wows and Top Five Recent Book Disappointments.
*Please note, due to trying to keep things recent, I kept it to books I’ve read this year.  So things that otherwise might have made this list didn’t and books that might otherwise have been left off made it.

Recent Disappointments (from most recent to least):

The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)
1.
The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
My expectations weren’t that high to begin with considering the mixed reviews I heard about it, but I really did hope this would be better than it ended up being.  Still a chilling concept and some interesting twists.
(review pending)

The Immortals (Olympus Bound, #1)
2.
The Immortals by Jordanna Max Brodsky
A book I thought I would love but only ended up liking due to the baggage I brought with me (my view of the Greco-Roman gods vs Brodsky’s view of them were very not compatible at times).  I would still recommend this one to people interested in modern-day Greek gods.
(review here)

Soundless
3.
Soundless by Richelle Mead
Great sounding concept but boring characters and what felt like a lack of anything to hold onto made this a struggle to read.
(review here)

Ready Player One
4.
Ready Player One by Ernest Kline
I thought I was going to love this because of what it’s about, but it ended up being only okay and I had some semi-serious issues with it.
(review here)

The Alpha and His Ace (The Alpha and His Ace #1)
5.
The Alpha and His Ace by Ana J. Phoenix
This book just reminded me why I don’t usually read romances.  There was nothing new besides having one of the main characters be an asexual person.  Woo.
(review here)

Recent Wows (from most recent to least):

Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore (Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, #1)
1.
Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
I’m always a bit leery of books about books and bookstores, especially after a couple of disappointments, but this was truly a charming read and I enjoyed the contrast between books and modern tech.  Slow beginning, but interesting commentary.
(review here)

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass, #4)
2.
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
I’d been enjoying the Throne of Glass series, but the third book was a bit iffy for me.  So it was with great pleasure that I found QoS return to what I liked and then give me more that I liked.  There were problems, yes, but all of my worries after Heir of Fire were soothed.
(review here)

Six of Crows (Six of Crows, #1)
3.
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
I didn’t exactly like the Grisha trilogy, but Six of Crows fixed everything I didn’t like, kept everything I did, and went so much farther I can’t even.  Love this book.
(review here)

Station Eleven
4.
Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
I don’t know about anyone else, but I’m getting sick of post-apocalypse stories, so I went into Station Eleven cautiously.  And I loved it!  The societies that had sprung up made a lot of sense, and the novel’s arc words – because survival is insufficient – have resonated with me since I saw the Star Trek episode they’re originally from (Star Trek: Voyager, “Survival Instinct”)
(review here)

Meet Your Baker (A Bakeshop Mystery, #1)
5.
Meet Your Baker by Ellie Alexander
I don’t often read mysteries not for any particular reason but just because.  But I’m so glad I saw this on Girl of 1000 Wonders’ blog because it was cute and the setting was perfect for me – theater and baking.  So for something that I was expecting to be a ‘read and done’, this made a bit more of an impact on me.  If only Alexander included the recipe for lime and mint cupcakes… *sigh*
(review here)

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Recent Gems and Rocks

  1. I absolutely loved The Immortals, but I can see if you had a different view on the gods thing how you could have been disappointed.I’m with you on Ready Player One. I couldn’t even finish Station Eleven. It bored me! My TTT

    • siderealday says:

      I can see how Station Eleven wouldn’t be everyone’s cup of tea. And I did still like The Immortals, but it wasn’t what I had hoped for.
      Thanks for visiting!

  2. I’m so heartbroken about Soundless. I was gifted a copy last year and LOVED the cover, but reviews have been really bad so I haven’t tucked into it yet. 😦

    Really liked Mr. Penumbra though—just contemporary fiction done absolutely right, I reckon!

    • siderealday says:

      Mr. Penumbra was so good!

      As for Soundless… you could still give it a try, but I wouldn’t go in with high expectations. I know there have been people who loved it, too, so don’t take all the negative reviews as the only viewpoint out there.

  3. Cate T. says:

    Yeah, The 5th Wave didn’t do it for me either.

    • siderealday says:

      I was very disappointed, too, because the writing did a very good job of invoking paranoia in me when I read it, but the rest of it didn’t work for me.

  4. Greg says:

    I liked Mr. Penumbra’s a lot, it had some interesting things to say, and I agree about Ready Player One. While I enjoyed some things about it I did not love it as much as some did.

Leave a Reply

