WWW Wednesday – 4/20

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: I’m almost done with Stonewielder by Ian C. Esslemont.  This is my first new read for the Malazan world since I started being serious with this blog, and I’m very excited to finally post a review for a Malazan novel, although the format will probably be a bit different from my usual review format.
I’m also so close to finishing Truthwitch.  It’s been an interesting ride, but I think I’m ready to get off and think.

Recently Finished: Finally done with my reread of Kinslayer by Jay Kristoff, which means I can now finally pick up Endsinger, the final book in the Lotus War trilogy.  I’m not sure my heart will survive intact.

Reading Next: Another hold came in: A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis.  So that’ll be next.  And, of course, I’ll be rereading Dust of Dreams by Steven Erikson as the next book in my epic Malazan (re)read once I get through those last two chapters of Stonewielder.

9 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 4/20

  1. I’ve had A Madness So Discreet on my list for ages! Looking forward to hearing what you make of that and, of course, of Truthwitch (I’m still not convinced).

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/20/www-wednesday-20th-april-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      I’m hoping to have Truthwitch finished today so that I can post my next round of YA blitz reviews tomorrow or Friday, and Truthwitch will be part of that. As of right now, I’m really on the fence about it.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  2. Lauren says:

    I tried to get into the Malazan books a while ago, but the first one ended up being a struggle. Do they improve as they go? Or am I cursed to just not get that series?

    My WWW : https://thelaurenest.com/2016/04/20/www-wednesday-420/

    • siderealday says:

      I, too, tried the books and then walked away from them. The first one is the roughest – partially because it’s his first book, and it was written about 10 years before the others – but they get better. It also helps to have someone to talk to about them or to read what other people are saying about them because they are dense with lots of things. Also, an enjoyment of snark, patience, and good memory recall (or lots of notes) are also assets. If you try them again, I’m here for you.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  3. Sam says:

    I love how you talk about Truthwitch as a ride. I feel that way about books, too. I have to digest them before I can say what I thought. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      This one really has been because of the various good moments and bad ones. And I definitely agree with you about digesting. Sometimes, my first reaction after immediately finishing a book is not the reaction I have one or two days later when I’ve thought about it.
      Thanks for hosting, and happy reading!

  4. Yvo says:

    I will be looking forward to your thoughts on Truthwitch; I still haven’t gotten a copy myself but it sounds like an interesting read. I hope you will enjoy your books this week! 🙂

    • siderealday says:

      There were some good points and some bad points, although no love triangle!
      Thanks, and happy reading!

      • Yvo says:

        No love triangle is always a good thing in a YA story, especiallu since it’s such a rare find. I will probably try to find a copy some time soon… Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

