Book Tag – The A-Z Survey

I saw this over on The Laurenest’s blog, and she said consider yourself tagged if you haven’t yet participated in it.  So, I repeat the same: if it appeals to you and you haven’t done it, you are now tagged.

Author you’ve read the most books from
This one was hard to think of because there are several very prolific authors I’ve read and I’m not completely sure exactly who’s the most prolific that I’ve read the most from.  So, authors where I’ve read more than 14 books they’ve written are:
Anne McCaffreyDavid Weber
Marion Zimmer Bradley
Mercedes Lackey
Tamora Pierce
Terry Pratchett

Best sequel ever
Lady Knight, the final book in the Protector of the Small quartet by Tamora Pierce, really brought home Kel’s growth to me.

Lady Knight (Protector of the Small, #4)A Madness So Discreet

Currently reading
A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

Drink of choice while reading
Coffee with a lot of sugar/syrup or tea with some honey

E-reader or physical book
Definitely physical – I love the heft and scent of an actual book

Fictional character you probably would have actually dated in high school
I didn’t date in high school, but if I had… I would’ve wanted to date someone like Blue Sargent from The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

Glad you gave this book a chance
More like genre – I stopped reading YA fiction for a while because it was over-saturated with tropes I didn’t like.  I’m glad I’ve returned to it, though, because I’ve found some very enjoyable reads these past twelve months that I otherwise would’ve missed out on.

Hidden book gem
The Emelan-verse by Tamora Pierce: the Circle of Four quartet, The Circle Opens quartet, The Will of the Empress, Melting Stones, and Battle Magic.  Most people who know her (and that doesn’t seem to be that many, either) know the Tortall books with Alanna, Daine, Kel, Aly, and/or Bekah, but I first met Pierce’s books through the Circle of Four and I wish more people read and talked about them.

Important reading moment in your life
I was maybe about eight or nine and my grandmother placed her copy of the Complete Collection of Sherlock Holmes in my hands.  My life was never the same after that because it was then that I realized I didn’t have to stick to ‘my reading level’.

Just finished
Stonewielder by Ian C. Esslemont – the first new-to-me book of my epic Malaz reread.

Kinds of books you won’t read
I won’t touch straight-out erotica, and a lot of romances have disappointed me so I tend to not read them unless they’re cross-genre.  I’m also not a huge fan of Westerns.

Stonewielder (Malazan Empire, #3)Dust of Dreams (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #9)

Longest book you’ve read
Well, most of the books in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series are over 1000, but the longest is Dust of Dreams at 1276 pages, and I think that’s the longest book I’ve read.

Major book hangover because of
I had to stop and detox after several books, but my detoxing is reading light, happy manga or children’s books, so I never stopped reading, per se.  But I do remember needing to take some time and just breathe when I finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, simply because the series had meant so much to me over the years and now it was over.

Number of bookcases  you own
Four full-length plus about ten bankers boxes worth of books (and that’s not counting the books scattered across rooms, mixed in with other people’s bookshelves, etc.).

One book you have read multiple times
I constantly reread Malazan – to pick up things I missed, to remind myself of what’s happened when a new book is coming out, simply to revisit scenes and characters I loved or that touched me emotionally.  (A world not a book or series, I know, I know, I’m cheating)

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, #7)Toll the Hounds (The Malazan Book of the Fallen, #8)

Preferred Place to read
Anywhere

Quote that inspires you
“There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for even should we fail – should we fall – we will know that we have lived.” — Anomander Rake in Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson

Reading Regret
That I don’t have enough time to get through all the books I want to read.  Even the ones I think I won’t like or will DNF.  I want the chance to read them but I just don’t have time, so I skip books I think I won’t like which means I might miss out on ones I actually would.

Series you started and need to finish (all books out)
I’m going to start Endsinger, the final book of the Lotus War trilogy, any day now.  The series I really need to finish is A Discovery of Witches – I loved the first book and haven’t picked up the second let alone the third.

Endsinger (The Lotus War, #3)On Basilisk Station (Honor Harrington, #1)

Three of your all-time favorite books
Shatterglass by Tamora Pierce, Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card, and On Basilisk Station by David Weber

Shatterglass (The Circle Opens, #4)Ender's Shadow (Shadow, #1)

Unapologetic fangirl for
The Malazan world, as my blog will reveal.  Also, though I don’t talk about them much, CLAMP (a group of four manga artists known for Cardcaptor Sakura, Chobits, and Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle, among many many others).  I’ve read almost everything they’ve put out (provided it’s been translated) and I love going over their things, looking for references to their other works or for foreshadowing – or for some hint as to how exactly X was supposed to end, darn it!
(If CLAMP has also ruined your life with emotions, come talk to me about it)

Tsubasa: RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE, Vol. 1 (Tsubasa: RESERVoir CHRoNiCLE #1)The Raven King (The Raven Cycle, #4)

Very excited for this release
The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater in just a few days

Worst bookish habit
Pulling a book out when I should be listening to someone or trying to talk to people

X Marks the Spot: Start at the top left of your bookshelf and pick the 27th book
My books are double-stacked on my shelves (yay deep shelves), so I didn’t get past the top shelf to find Intrigues by Mercedes Lackey (actually, every book I counted past was by her).

Your latest book purchase
It’s been too long – my birthday was recently, so people bought books for me, and before that it had been a few months.  So… *shrug* Who knows?

Intrigues (Valdemar: Collegium Chronicles, #2)A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)

ZZZ-snatcher (book that kept you up past your bedtime)
A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwabb (I wasn’t allowed to keep AGoS by my bedside or it would’ve been that one; never share books with someone when you’re both trying to read it.  NEVER)

Leave a Reply

