WWW Wednesday – 4/27

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Started my reread of Dust of Dreams by Steven Erikson, the next book in my Epic Malazan (Re)Read.  Hopefully this one will go faster than Toll the Hounds.
I’ve also started Green by Jay Lake.

Recently Finished: As expected, I finished Truthwitch by Susan Dennard and Stonewielder by Ian C. Esslemont.  Both of those reviews are up (Truthwitch is the final ‘paragraph’ in last week’s YA Review Blitz).
I also started and finished Stars Above by Marissa Meyer, a collection of short stories in the Lunar Chronicles ‘verse.  Not necessary reading, but enjoyable, especially for fans who want some backstory on the characters of LC or want to see where they end up two-ish years post-series.
And the final book I finished this past week was A Madness So Discreet by Mindy McGinnis.  That review will be in the next round of YA blitz reviews, along with Stars Above, which is good because that’ll give me some time to process the very complicated feelings this book evoked.
I also ‘won’ Camp NaNoWriMo last week!  Jubilation!  However, since my real goal is at least 1000 words a day, I’ve still been writing every day since and will continue to do so through the end of the month.  I’ll post my final word count in May.

Reading Next: Good question.  I’ll probably just keep working through the library books I’ve had out for a month or two.  Which means The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle.

12 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 4/27

  1. Yvo says:

    Congrats for winning Camp Nano! I have been wanting to read Stars Above and A Madness So Discreet for a while now, so hopefully I will find some time soon… Although I have actually read most of the ‘older’ Lunar Chronicles already, so I will be reading only those I don’t know yet. 😉

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    • siderealday says:

      Thank you so much! And I think about half of the stories in Stars Above were new, but I don’t know because I hadn’t read any of them before starting the collection.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  2. Congrats on winning Camp Nano! I need to get myself together for the rounds this coming year.

    https://girlof1000wonders.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesdays-april-27/

  3. Brilliant news about Camp Nano – congratulations! 🙂 I’m so far from hitting my target it’s untrue… but I still wrote 11,000 words I probably wouldn’t have written if not for going to Camp and that’s better than nothing!

    I really must read Stars Above. I loved the Lunar Chronicles and want to read these stories but the TBR just keeps expanding even though I don’t remember adding anything to it. I’m starting to wonder if it’s taking on a life of its own!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-27th-april-2016/

    • siderealday says:

      Even a sentence is better than nothing as some of us have been telling the rest of our cabin mates. Congrats on the 11k!

      My TBR definitely has a life of its own, but so long as you remember the basics of Lunar Chronicles then you can probably pick up Stars Above at any time and understand all of the stories in it.

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  4. Sam says:

    I love when books give me complicated feelings! Those are the best kind. And congrats again on winning NaNo! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      I do, too. Although in this case it seems to boil down to ‘was I disappointed by this book’s tone because of the summary or did I enjoy it in spite of the expectations I entered with?’
      Thanks for hosting and happy reading!

  5. Congratulations on beating the words outta Camp NaNoWriMo. I am taking a bit of a break from it this year. Crazy, I know, but I have too many things happening right now and I am scared that if I do it again that writing will suddenly feel like a chore.
    Nice list of books! I’ll have to see if I can find any in the library next time I am there and read a bit of each to see if there is anything I would read.
    Don’t be shy and come say hi!
    Bre
    https://forgottenpumpkinpie.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-5/

    • siderealday says:

      I completely understand. Writing might sometimes feel like a chore, but you don’t want to get in a slump where it always does.
      Mostly what I read is speculative fiction, whether YA or otherwise, so if you’re into any of that genre then you’ll likely have some luck with the books I tend to read.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

