Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Websites Not About Books

f42df-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten Websites I Love That Aren’t About Books.

1. TV Tropes – it used to be a lot more user friendly since, sadly, change is not always good, but I still appreciate being able to go here and browse tropes.

2. IMDB – whenever I see a movie and I go ‘I know your face/voice’, I go here.  They also have some cool promo videos and if you’re into entertainment news they seem to have a decent number of links (I don’t care about that sort of thing).

3. Pathfinder Sourcebook – my passion other than writing/reading, arguably.  I love my (usually) once-a-week get togethers with my Pathfinder group.  This is a really handy website for looking up information, especially if you don’t have the book or only have one copy when two or more people need it – or if there’s a rules dispute.

4. Tangorin – a handy-dandy kanji/word/name/phrase search site.  It even has a way to look up kanji by radical!

5. Wikipedia – when I want to look something up, Wiki is a great place to start.  I go to the page I want and then look at their sources and go to those.  Unless I’m feeling lazy and think Wiki is telling the truth, then I just go based off what I read there.  But I think a lot of people do that…

6. Sweet’s Cakes/Claire’s Recipe Index – this is totally cheating, because Claire runs a book blog.  But she also does a lot of recipes, and it’s for those that I’m including her site here.  I’ve tried making a couple of her recipes with plans to make more.  If you like baking – or just like looking at pictures of pretty desserts, go check her baking out!

And that’s all I have this week.  So many of the websites I go to are book related, either through reading or writing….

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Websites Not About Books

  1. Thank you so much for putting my baking pages on your list! I’m honored 🙂 It also reminds me I have to get baking tomorrow!

    • siderealday says:

      But of course! I spend so much time looking at your recipes each week, and some of them have been fun to try and make. Have fun baking tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

