Top Ten Tuesday – Books on a Whim

f42df-ttt

It’s Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly bookish meme hosted by the broke and the bookish.  Each week, there’s a different topic.  Come up with your list of top ten, post it, and then add to the link at b&b’s masterpost, then bounce around and see other people’s lists.

This week’s theme was Top Ten Books I Picked Up On a Whim.  So, normally, like most people, I let others recommendations guide me.  But there have definitely been times when I saw a book in a store or a library and said, ooh, that sounds interesting.  So, here are ten books I picked up on a whim that I loved:


1.
Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson.  The first book published for the world of Malaz and the first in Erikson’s ten-part Malazan Book of the Fallen.  I saw it on a shelf at Borders (back before they went out of business :() and said ooh this looks interesting.  I read the first two or three books this way, and then forgot about the series for two years before learning that more books were out, and I haven’t looked back since.

Blood Song – US cover |
2.
Blood Song by Anthony Ryan. I picked this up at my library last year when browsing shelves.  I really need to read the sequels because I loved it!  But first I have to reread this first book so I can remember what happened.

Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch (Mass Market Paperback ...
3.
Midnight Riot/Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch.  I can’t remember why I picked the first book up anymore (albeit as an audio book), but I quite enjoy the misadventures of PC Peter Grant, apprentice wizard.  Not my favorite, not by a long shot, but definitely enjoyable.

The Riddle of the Wren by Charles de Lint — Reviews, Discussion ...
4.
The Riddle of the Wren by Charles de Lint.  I don’t even remember now why I picked this up in a bookstore back in the early 2000’s, but I am so glad I did.  It’s quite probably de Lint’s style that has made me enjoy books that don’t give all the answers and don’t always wrap everything up with a neat little bow at the end of the book.

Children of the Night (Diana Tregarde Investigation Series #2)
5.
Children of the Night by Mercedes Lackey.  I was introduced to Lackey’s better-known Heralds of Valdemar series, but I’m not the kind of person who always goes to pick up every book by an author I read no matter how much I do or don’t like their work.  But I’m glad I decided to give her Diana Tregarde series a try.

Over Sea, under Stone (The Dark Is Rising Sequence Series #1) by Susan ...
6. Over Sea, Under Stone by Susan Cooper.  I don’t remember where or how or why I picked this one up – maybe it was a random gift? – but nobody told me about it or said ‘you should read this’.  It’s been about fifteen years since I first picked up the first book in the Dark is Rising sequence and I still don’t regret that decision.

Start by marking “Wolfblade (Hythrun Chronicles: Wolfblade Trilogy ...7. Wolfblade by Jennifer Fallon.  The cover just leapt out at me when I was browsing in a bookstore one day.  I devoured the rest of the series as well as the sequel trilogy.

The Iron Tree - Cecilia Dart-Thornton - Tor - Acceptable - Paperback ...
8.
The Iron Tree by Cecilia Dart-Thornton.  Another book that I judged by the beautiful cover.  Now if only the fourth book would be released in America so I can finally finish this series…

And I’m sure there are others, but I just honestly can’t think of them right now.  So I’ll have a short list.  *shrug*

Anyone have a favorite book they found on their own?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Books on a Whim

  1. All of these sound and look really interesting – great picks!

    Check out my TTT.

    • siderealday says:

      For some reason Blogspot isn’t letting me comment on your TTT as siderealday, but I wanted you to know that your list has a lot of cool sounding books on it, too. And I also loved The Accident Season – such a great book!

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

