Review – Broken Homes

Broken Homes (Peter Grant, #4)Broken Homes (Peter Grant #4) by Ben Aaronovitch
Synopsis from GoodReads:
A mutilated body in Crawley. Another killer on the loose. The prime suspect is one Robert Weil – an associate of the twisted magician known as the Faceless Man? Or just a common garden serial killer?

Before PC Peter Grant can get his head round the case, a town planner going under a tube train and a stolen grimoire are adding to his case-load.

So far so London.

But then Peter gets word of something very odd happening in Elephant and Castle, on an housing estate designed by a nutter, built by charlatans and inhabited by the truly desperate.

Is there a connection?

And if there is, why oh why did it have to be South of the River?

The Peter Grant/Rivers of London series remains a fun, fast-paced read in this latest installment.  Characters old and new shine, more of the mystery of the Faceless Man (associates first seen at the end of book 1) is unraveled, and the conclusion is stunning.

My main complaint with this series has been that we’re stuck in Peter Grant’s head and he can be counted on at least once a book to think about the attractiveness of the women around him.  That has been happening with less and less frequency to the point where I’m not sure it ever even happened in this book.  Which was great.

Also, Beverly came back!  We haven’t seen Beverly Brook since the end of book 1 when she went to live with Old Man Thames, Oxley, and the rest of that brood.  Seeing her again has been great, as I’ve been wondering what exactly she’s been up to and how her time with the other half of the London Rivers has been going.

I don’t have much more to say about this book other than that I wish the ending had been more of a surprise – there was plenty of foreshadowing throughout this book about a certain character’s plotline.  Although Peter’s continued experimentation with magic seems to be good, which is nice to see as that is his niche among all these other practitioners and it’s not usually good form to undermine your protagonist too much.  And on a final note, to my fellow Americans and other non-Brits, the British-isms seem to have picked up in this book.  There were several times I found myself pondering a word only to look it up and find it in the British edition of the dictionary.

3.5 stars – still an entertaining read, but lacking that special something that I look for in my higher-rated reads.

2 thoughts on “Review – Broken Homes

  1. That’s pretty much exactly what I thought!
    I do agree that Peter seems to be growing up and becoming more focussed on his cases rather than thinking about the women he bumps into – which is a blessing for us all 🙂

    • siderealday says:

      Peter’s growth is one of the things that keeps drawing me back to this series, I think. Although I do enjoy some of his tangents, watching him grow up has meant that there are less times when I look up from the book and roll my eyes until I’m dizzy.

Leave a Reply

