Review – A Court of Mist and Fury

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Synopsis from GoodReads:
Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

So I posted my review for the first book over here, in a YA review blitz.  I have since learned it is a NA series, hence why this one gets it’s own post.  I’m trying to avoid major spoilers, but what is or isn’t a spoiler differs from person to person, so proceed at your own risk.

Looking back over my review, the main thing that jumps out is my comment about power dynamics and how ACoTaR went with the typical paranormal romance power dynamics of the man having more power than the woman.  Well, Maas certainly answered some concerns on that score only to raise a few different ones and then handle them rather deftly, at least in regards to the Feyre/Tamlin relationship.

I’m very much enjoying the court politics, the differences between the Spring Court, the Night Court, and the Summer Court, and the relationships between the Night Court’s Inner Circle.  Maas is very good at political intrigue, as anyone who’s read her Throne of Glass series will know, and that is very much in view in this book.

On the other hand, it took me a hundred or so pages to actually get into this book, as compared to the other one where I was hauled in from the word ‘go’.  I think the main issue is with Feyre.  Throughout the first book, she is strong-willed and has enough admirable qualities to balance the annoying ones.  Unfortunately, this book opens with her in a very bad place and she falls further and further into making no decisions and she has lost the fighting spirit I so admired about her in the first book.  She does eventually start clawing her way back from the brink, but it takes a while, and I wasn’t enjoying reading about her being wimpy during the first part of the book.  That probably sounds fairly insensitive given everything she’s gone through, but that’s the danger of using first person.

One more minor complaint: I wish we’d seen more of people’s interactions.  Because we’re stuck in Feyre’s head, we don’t get to see how people interact when she’s not there.  And so I felt that I didn’t see enough interaction between Rhys and his Inner Circle, especially, so Feyre’s observations about them and their relationships felt a lot more like telling than showing.

That was definitely a wham ending though, packed full of everything, and so I’m now very eagerly awaiting the third book.  Although, where the second book gave a satisfying end while leaving plot threads dangling, this one just leaves everything hanging out there.  Some things were resolved, yes, but this is clearly written in a way that people will have to pick up the next book.  That’s not necessarily a bad thing, but I do wish there had been a bit more closure instead of Maas opening up even more plot and character and romance threads right at the end.

4 out of 5 stars.  Another very good entry in this series, although yes, there are still problems, enough to keep me from giving it a full five stars.

4 thoughts on “Review – A Court of Mist and Fury

  1. Angelized1st says:

    I’ve been putting off reading this, because I only really liked the second half of ACoTaR. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this one, but you made me want to read it.

    • siderealday says:

      It depends on what characters you liked about ACoTaR and what aspects of it you liked. Rhys gets a lot more screen time along with some new characters while Tamlen, Lucien, and others are pushed to the side.
      If you do read it, I hope you end up enjoying it.

  2. Berls says:

    Hmmm you’ve got me all kinds of curious! I really enjoyed the first book and am just waiting for this to arrive in audio from Recorded Books (I’m getting it for review). I’m nervous about her losing that fighting spirit – I liked that a lot too – and that ending! Great review!

Leave a Reply

