My Complicated Reaction to Certain Books

I’m normally the type of person who stops reading a series if I don’t like it or don’t like where it’s going.  I wouldn’t call myself a complete-ist by any stretch of the word.  But sometimes, despite how much I don’t like a book or series, I’ll continue reading it.

I wasn’t going to post on this topic, but thanks to reading/listening to Ilona Andrews’s work and then reviewing it, I felt like I needed to address this now.

There are certain series where the plot, characters, and sub-plots don’t work for me but either the world is compelling or I just want to see where the train wreck is going.  And so I’ll keep reading, no matter how much I want to rant and rave about the characters, the plot, the romance, whatever.  I’m not sure what sort of masochistic tendencies I have that drive me to do this, but this isn’t the first time it’s happened.

This is, however, the first time it’s happened since I started reviewing books on this blog (or anywhere other than by word of mouth).  Which means that, because of how quickly I’ve been able to get through the Andrews’s books, I’ve been posting a lot of negative reviews recently.

I haven’t been able to give the books super low ratings because, well, clearly there’s something there that keeps me coming back.  But the more I read, the lower my ratings are getting and, honestly, I have no interest in writing a batch of negative reviews, which is what I think is going to happen based on my reactions to the books going forward.  This is especially true since normally I would’ve given up by now, meaning that the low ratings wouldn’t be given.

Due to my guilt over these facts, I’ve decided to stop writing reviews for series where I do this.  Oh, I’ll write reviews of the first book in the series and up through however many I’m actually enjoying.  But once I’m only reading a series to see where it goes – once I’m going ‘why am I still reading this thing?’ – I’m going to stop posting reviews.  Because to me, this is only fair.

Does anyone else keep reading series just to see where they go?  Do you post negative reviews in that case?  Or do you handle it in a different way?

Leave a Reply

