WWW Wednesday – 8/9

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Not much progress on Orb Sceptre Throne by Ian C. Esslemont.  I was a bit focused on my other reads.
I’m a bit past the halfway point of Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch.  Still enjoyable, although I’ll admit to being a bit surprised by some of the directions the plot’s going.
And I’m about three-quarters of the way through Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany.  It’s interesting, both as a story and as a script, but I’m not sure that I actually like it other than for the nostalgia value and the staging instructions.

Recently Finished: Just one book, Steel’s Edge by Ilona Andrews.  Too much driving time, not enough reading time, I guess, plus other RL issues.

Reading Next: Still planning on my next book being The Black Company by Glenn Cook since HPatCC was a surprise gift.

What are all of you reading?

4 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 8/9

  1. I’m still on the fence as to whether I want to read Cursed Child. I think I might wait until they inevitably make it into a TV series (when they’ve squeezed all the money out of the stage version, I’m sure it’ll happen. Or 3 featured films!). Reading a script is never the experience that seeing the production is!

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/08/10/www-wednesday-10th-august-2016/

  2. siderealday says:

    I’m sure they’ll manage a four part mini-series out of it, given that there are four acts. That or a two-part movie. There’s not enough material for it to be a 3-parter, but I said that about The Hobbit, too… And you’re so right about reading a script being different from seeing it. They were kind of enough to publish a rehearsal script so it has blocking notes as well as scene descriptions, so that might help visualize it, but I can understand the preference to see it.
    Happy reading!

  3. Sam says:

    I hope you enjoy CC. I liked getting to know Scorpius and Albus and how they’re the same as/different from their fathers. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      Sorry about the late reply. I really need to not read comments on my phone because then I forget to answer them when I have my computer in front of me.
      I enjoyed CC, but it definitely had some flaws, and I hope I was able to get both of those things across in my review.
      Thanks for hosting and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

