WWW Wednesday – 8/17

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: I’m still working on Orb Sceptre Throne by Ian C. Esslemont.  Hopefully I’ll finish it sometime next week.
I started If You Can Keep It by Eric Metaxas, a very interesting work of nonfiction about America as a republic.  I’m not very far into it, but it reads easily and has large print, so it should be a short read when I actually sit down to it.
I also started Closer to Home by Mercedes Lackey.  I’ll probably finish this one later today or sometime tomorrow.

Recently Finished: This was a good week: I got through Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch; Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany; and The Black Company by Glen Cook.  All three reviews are up.

Reading Next: Still waiting for my ILL request on Midnight Blue-Light Special by Seanan McGuire to come in.  In the meantime, though, I’ll read Closer to the Heart, the sequel to Closer to Home.

What are you reading this week?

ETA: and this, friends, is why you should always double-check your posts if you write drafts in advance.  I can’t believe I forgot to add the usual info about WWW Wednesday.  Mea culpa.

6 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 8/17

  1. Keeana Reads says:

    I haven’t read Cursed Child and I don’t think I will. It honestly doesn’t appeal to me. Here’s mine https://keeanareads.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesdays-aug-17-2016/
    Happy reading!

  2. Curious Daisy says:

    I also finished The Cursed Child recently. Wasn’t a fan really 😀 Happy reading! http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-august-17-2016/

  3. Sam says:

    I’m curious what you thought of Cursed Child because of your theatre work. Did you think the different style was worth it because it worked well for the theater? It’s getting (from what I saw) good reviews on stage. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      I’m glad it’s getting good reviews for the production. I can see why they chose not to convert it from a script to a novel, although I’m not sure how I feel about getting a production script (with the blocking/set/etc. notes that this production is doing) versus getting a regular script without all of this production’s decisions. I’d really like to see it staged one day, even if I see a recording of a staging and not live, because I think that would help with a lot of my issues with the writing (melodramatic lines, mostly).
      Thanks for hosting, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

