WWW Wednesday – 8/24

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: Still working on Orb Sceptre Throne by Ian C. Esslemont.  This one is definitely going to take more than this week’s BoB17 to get through since it’s really not gripping me and I’m sticking to the 1 ch/day when I’ve got a decent number of chapters left.
I’m making good progress on If You Can Keep It by Eric Metaxas.  Should be done with it later today or sometime tomorrow at the latest.
I’m only a little ways into Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold.  This one’ll be the second book I start and finish for BoB17 once I get through it.

Recently Finished: I finished Closer to Home and Closer to the Heart by Mercedes Lackey towards the end of last week.  Both of these reviews are up.
I also started and finished Redshirts by John Scalzi.  That review will be up either later today or sometime tomorrow, after tonight’s book club discussion so I have time to put my thoughts about it in order.

Reading Next: My ILL hold on Seanan McGuire’s Midnight Blue-Light Special came in, so that’s up next.  Then my impulse library pick up of Half a King by Joe Abercrombie.

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 8/24

  1. Enjoy your books, which are all new to me. I’ll be watching for reviews.

    Here’s MY WWW POST

  2. Sam says:

    Good luck with BoB! I did one once and really enjoyed it. I wish I’d paid attention to do another haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      Between first COYER and now BoB, I’m really getting through a lot of books right now. So helpful. Even if it’s not really clearing through my TBR list but rather through my ‘Oooh new shinies’ list…
      Thanks for hosting and happy reading!

  3. I love the sound of Red Shirts and I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I recently managed to see the latest Star Trek movie and every time a few nameless red shirts were in the background of the shot I thought, “Oh dear, that lot are so dead!”

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and good luck with the rest of the Bout of Books!

    • siderealday says:

      I still need to see the new ST movie… But yes, Redshirts was quite enjoyable and, according to one member of my book club, completely accessible even to those unfamiliar with the idea of what a red shirt is.
      Thank you! Happy reading yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

