WWW Wednesday – 10/17

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, answer the three w’s and link up with Sam’s masterpost.  No blog?  Leave your answers in the comments section.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: I’m a little ways into Ethan of Athos by Lois McMaster Bujold, my current Vorkosigan Saga novel.  So far it’s interesting – and I’m appreciating having a new viewpoint character, despite his rather strange beliefs!
And I’ve started The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas, the collection of short stories set in the Throne of Glass series.  I wish I’d read them before Empire of Storms, since they introduce a lot of the characters in that novel, but I didn’t realize how critical they were at that time (anyone planning on reading that series, take note of my mistake!).

Recently Finished: Two books again this week: Pocket Apocalypse by Seanan McGuire and The Lees of Laughter’s End by Steven Erikson (technically a novella).  The first review is up and the second should be up tomorrow.

Reading Next: The next Bauchelain and Korbal Broach novella is The Healthy Dead, and hopefully it will continue the spooky/horror feel that I’m enjoying this month – and with these particular necromancers.

10 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 10/17

  1. I hope you enjoy The Assassin’s Blade. If you do, I’ll have to make a note to read those stories before the sixth and final Throne of Glass book comes out – that way I can go in better-informed of who’s who! 🙂
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/10/19/www-wednesday-19th-october-2016/

  2. Thanks for the tip about ‘The Assassin’s Blade’. I’ve read ‘Throne of Glass’, but haven’t started on the rest yet.

    Here’s my post: http://candy-m.blogspot.com/2016/10/what-are-you-reading-october-19-2016.html

    • siderealday says:

      I’ve heard you should read the short stories after the third book in the series, so I guess there might be spoilers in there for revelations from that book? Your call.
      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

  3. Curious Daisy says:

    I hope you enjoy your Sarah J Mass books hehe. http://www.curious-daisy.com/www-wednesdays/www-wednesday-october-19-2016/

  4. Sam says:

    It’s a shame you didn’t get forwarned about the Maas stories. Were they advertised as a X.5 book? Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      Since I don’t always remember to check for that, I’m not sure. Either way, a bit of warning would’ve been appreciated. At least they’re (so far) proving interesting now that I’m reading that after the fact.
      Thanks for hosting and happy reading!

  5. Yvo says:

    I was surprised the Throne Of Glass novellas were so important in the fifth book as well… I did read them before, but it was a while ago and I didn’t remember all the details. I hope you will enjoy your books this week and happy reading!

    • siderealday says:

      I don’t blame you, since the packaging implies they came out between the third and fourth novels. And when it’s a year between novel releases…
      So far, though, I’m enjoying my reads.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

