Review – Fool Moon

Fool Moon (The Dresden Files, #2)Fool Moon by Jim Butcher
Synopsis from GoodReads:
Harry Dresden–Wizard
Lost Items Found. Paranormal Investigations. Consulting. Advice. Reasonable Rates. No Love Potions, Endless Purses, or Other Entertainment.

Business has been slow. Okay, business has been dead. And not even of the undead variety. You would think Chicago would have a little more action for the only professional wizard in the phone book. But lately, Harry Dresden hasn’t been able to dredge up any kind of work–magical or mundane.

But just when it looks like he can’t afford his next meal, a murder comes along that requires his particular brand of supernatural expertise.

A brutally mutilated corpse. Strange-looking paw prints. A full moon. Take three guesses–and the first two don’t count…

This is technically the second book in the Dresden Files.  I couldn’t find the first one.  Oh well, it still made sense.  Unfortunately, that doesn’t mean I liked it.

I’ve always found first person to be very hit or miss for me, mostly miss.  There are some exceptions, of course, and I actually didn’t mind that this was in first person, which tends to be more common for me with Urban Fantasy.  I didn’t really like Dresden, but I can say that I enjoyed reading his thought processes and that it helped keep things moving forward.

But I didn’t like Dresden.  I didn’t hate him, the way I do so many first person narrators, and I didn’t loathe being in his head.  But I didn’t like him.  Oh, sure, I wanted him to win, but his personality didn’t really interest me, even if his problems did.  Oh well, at least he’s not as big a horndog as Peter Grant – although there were definitely still moments, unfortunately.

And then there are the secondary characters.  Most of them were treated as either useless or damsels.  Part of that is Dresden’s ‘chivalry’, but part of it is that a lot of them are normal people trying to operate in a world of magic and monsters.

I’m grateful that Dresden isn’t all powerful, because that means that his struggles are believable.  And I appreciate the use of the White Council as a reason why Dresden can’t just go around telling people things – but that White Council had better make an actual appearance in a later novel.

The prose was mostly fast-paced, which kept the novel moving.  Which is good, considering the mystery elements and the ‘who can I trust’ issues peppering the novel.  And it wasn’t overly descriptive while giving me enough to picture the people and monsters, which was fantastic.

Overall, it’s a solid book.  3 out of 5 stars.

Leave a Reply

