WWW Wednesday – 12/30

IMG_1384-0

It’s WWW Wednesday, a weekly reading meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.  To participate, just answer the three w’s and comment on Sam’s masterpost with a link to your post – or comment with your answers if you don’t have a blog.

The three w’s are:
What are you currently reading?
What have you recently finished reading?
What will you read next?

Currently Reading: No progress on The Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman or my reread of Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson.  Part of that is because I loaned out my copy of TLBO (the problem with family vacations where you’re the only one who brings multiple books) and part of it is because I’ve been focused on other books.
I’m almost done with The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – I’m liking it, but I’m liking the mythology more than the characters and the plot.
And I’m most of the way through A Call to Arms by David Weber, Timothy Zahn, and Thomas Pope.  It’s not as engaging as other books in the Honorverse, but I’m enjoying the look at the distant past of the main series.

Recently Finished: I reread A Call to Duty by David Weber and Timothy Zahn in preparation for ACTA.  I also sped-read through Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee.  The flashbacks were probably the most uninteresting parts of the book, although the confrontations and the plot were uncomfortable, but overall I think I liked it.
Go Set a Watchman counts towards my When Are You Reading? Challenge for the period of the 1960’s.  Unfortunately, with limited internet access, I won’t have a review up for it before some time in January.  (Not that the lack of reviews for my challenge books should surprise anyone since I still don’t have a review up for The Girls at the Kingfisher Club after how many months)

Reading Next: Hopefully I’ll return home to find some library books came in.  Namely, Scarlet by Marissa Meyer or Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.

What are all of you reading?

And, most important of all, have a happy, healthy New Year!

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 12/30

  1. Clare Stone says:

    I like both the Lunar Chronicles series and the Throne of Glass series, hope you enjoy those! And I have TLBO on my TBR shelf and I am really looking forward to it!
    http://dualreads.blogspot.co.uk/2015/12/wednesday-catch-up-30th-december.html

    • siderealday says:

      So far I’ve enjoyed the first books in both series, and I’ve heard Throne of Glass, at least, gets better as it goes on.
      I’m having some trouble leaving comments on blogspot, but I’m excited to hear you liked Shadow Study since I’m going to be trying to get back to that series with the new year.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

  2. Sam says:

    I’m glad you liked Go Set a Watchman, too. It read like an edited draft for sure. I liked the flashbacks because they reminded me of TKM, but they had nothing to do with the story! Ugh. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    • siderealday says:

      That sounds pretty accurate. Considering she didn’t want it published, I wasn’t surprised by that feel.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

  3. I still can’t decide if I want to read Go Set a Watchman or not. One day, when I have time to reread Mockingbird first.
    I hope you enjoy Scarlet. It’s a nice easy read, although not the best of The Lunar Chronicles series.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/www-wednesday-30th-december-2015/

    • siderealday says:

      If you like Mockingbird when you read it, then go for it, but if you don’t like TKM then you won’t like GSW.
      Don’t worry – even if I don’t especially like Scarlet, I’ll probably keep on with the series because it’s easy reads and interesting fairy tale twists.
      Thanks for stopping by, and happy reading!

  4. Emily Witt says:

    I’m hearing a lot of good things about Go Set A Watchman, but I still don’t know if I can bring myself to read it.

    Hope Scarlet is there for you when you return from holidays!

    Here’s my WWW post: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2015/12/30/www-and-wippet-wednesday-30-december-2015/

    • siderealday says:

      It’s not that it’s a great book it’s that I went into it completely unsure what I was getting into. I think that helped explain why I like it, although learning after I read it that this was the first draft of what would become To Kill a Mockingbird explained a lot about how rough it was.

      Scarlet was indeed waiting for me, thank you!

      Thanks for visiting, and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

